04/25/2012

So on Saturday 2 of my girlfriends and I went out for a ‘girls day’. B needed to try on bridesmaid dresses and then we went for lunch once we were successful at finding a dress that made her and the bride happy (luckily, this didn’t take long. Note to self: don’t let bridesmaids pick dresses, that’s just a recipe for disaster). Apparently having a cocktail at lunch (in addition to a massive amount of food) makes us do some impulse shopping. Of course, we can’t just be normal, stereotypical girls and going shopping and end up with clothes or other items we don’t need. No. We went to the new no-kill animal shelter across from where we ate and looked at the kittens. D and I were almost set on getting a pair of kittens but she was afraid of what her cat would do, and Greg wasn’t exactly thrilled with the prospect of another cat. So we walked around the shelter a little more. We caught the tail end of a ‘tour group’ through one of the dog kennels where I found a dog I liked. Apparently you need clearance even just to take the dogs out and pet them. Bull shit. Anyway. We eventually made our way back over to the kittens to find that they were already being adopted. So we sadly left and got int the car.

Driving home we decided to go to the Humane Society because now we wanted new animals in our lives. Again, we found some cats that were very friendly and sweet — and of course, a woman came and adopted them. (Not that I’m bitter, it’s excellent that so many animals were being adopted!) So we walked back to the dog kennels to check out the pups and there were quite a few cute dogs.

And then I saw this face:

And my heart melted.

Greg,who had be very resistant to the bringing home a cat idea stopped saying ‘no’ when I started talking about bringing home a dog. I took her outside for a "trial run" and kept texting him.

She’s probably the happiest puppy I’ve ever met.

Finally I called him and told him that I was dead serious about adopting her and for him to come and meet her. So he drove down while the three of us played with her outside. He got there and half-heartedly tried to find a reason as to why we shouldn’t adopt her — "Heartworms? Shots?", the shelter took care of all that (all shots and spayed before we ever met her). Eventually, he took her on a solo walk and also fell in love with her. So now we have a dog. Her name is Pepper.

In addition to being ridiculously adorable and happy, she’s extremely well behaved for a 5 month old puppy.

Her paperwork said she was a ‘basenji mix’, but the woman at the shelter desk said she didn’t think so. The vet we took her to yesterday also said most likely not. We’re guessing some kind of boxer mix. It really doesn’t matter, she so sweet. Sleeps through the night, lets us know that she needs to go out, learned quickly to leave the cat alone. Right now she’s napping on the couch next to me.

In other words, studying for finals, formatting my thesis, and any other school related work is not really happening. I should probably get on that soon.

The ginger babies near each other for a short time. They’re still warming up to one another.

 

Log in to write a note
April 26, 2012

i want to adopt all the animals and live on a giant farm where i grow pot and run sickass HPLC assays all day.

April 30, 2012

i need to make one for “WHEN MY PI LOOKS AT ME AND SAYS THAT HE BELIEVES THAT MASTERS DEGREES NORMALLY TAKE THREE YEARS AND THAT HE WASN’T SURE I WAS READY TO “GRADUATE EARLY”, EVEN THOUGH EVERYONE KNOWS ITS TWO YEARS AND HE SAID I WAS READY TO GRADUATE BACK BEFORE HE KNEW I WASN’T STAYING AS A PHD STUDENT, THAT BITCH. OH MY GOD I HATE MY LIFE”

May 1, 2012

i love this puppy 🙂 awww