03/21/2011

I ran my 5k on Saturday. I managed to get sick last week, but I recovered shortly before the race. I only managed to run about half of it, but I still completed my goal of finishing under 40 minutes and I was far from being in last place. So, go me. After that, I managed to get lost in a bad neighborhood and probably walked another 2 or 3 miles trying to get back to my car. I did this because I decided that if I took the road that I was standing on with my friends (who went in the opposite direction to their cars), I would not have to walk up the steep hill my car was located on top of. At the very least, I thought the road would end on campus. Oh, I was wrong. I was just glad  that it was 9:30 in the morning and convinced myself that all the "bad people" would still be asleep after a night of debauchery. An old black woman called me pretty at one point, to which I responded with "Thanks" and walked a little faster once I saw the creepy man watching from the porch. It wasn’t until I saw a landmark that I knew was not anywhere near where I needed to be that I finally decided that I was lost. Eventually I found a street that I knew the name of and decided to take that until I knew where I was. Eventually I wound of right where I would’ve been if I had just originally walked 2 blocks from my starting position. I was then asked by a nice looking man if I wanted a pamphlet, which I took and smiled and said thank you. I kept walking and then looked down at the pamphlet and was then informed that the world was ending on May 21st, 2011. I must have made some sort of despondent face, because the next group of people laughed at me as I read the headline of the pamphlet. Nearly an hour after starting for my car, I got there. Greg called at some point to see if I had hurt myself during the race since he was waiting for me to get home so the rest of the St. Pat’s festivities could commence. I blamed him for jokingly telling me not to get lost the night before. I have absolutely no sense of direction and when this is combined with my innate stubbornness to admit to being wrong, even to myself, I get lost. I really am truly lucky that I haven’t been seriously injured from this combination. Remember my swamp adventure? Same concept.

The rest of the day was alcohol and fun filled. Greg and I saw the Dirty Heads and made friends with groupies. We probably should have eaten more food. The good thing about day drinking is that our hang overs occurred around 1 am. Unfortunately, there weren’t any places still delivering food at that point, but we were sober, so we went and picked up my car and got Sonic. I felt fantastic the next morning and actually got things accomplished.

Today I cannot bring myself to be productive. It’s almost 4, and I still feel like I just sat down at my desk and am trying to get myself focused enough to at least sort through pictures to pick the ones that I want on my poster. But no. I think the most productive thing I’ve done all day is open and close Word and Powerpoint a few times. I may have even read some paragraphs. I copy and pasted something onto my poster template and shuffled through some papers. Today is worthless and I should probably just go home.

My head feels fuzzy and my eyes are burning. I also sort of feel like I ate a vanilla air freshener, which probably makes no sense to you. But I feel like I swallowed it and have fake vanilla scent coming up into my mouth and sort of into my nose while my stomach feels inexplicably upset. The vanilla thing might be from the coffee pot outside my office. I know it’s probably just allergies since it’s spring and all, but it’s very annoying. And not to mention it makes me a completely worthless worker. And as a friend, apparently, I had 3 missed messages since 11:30. I feel like I’ve been lost in some kind of time warp. In reality, I’ve just been going to the bathroom a lot because I’ve been forcing myself to drink a lot of water. I convinced myself earlier that I was dehydrated and that’s why I felt so odd. I don’t think that’s the case since I’ve drank at least 3 liters of water since then.

You know what? I am going to go home. I’ve been productive enough.

Log in to write a note
March 23, 2011

the postdoc candidate was really tall and the chinese girls in my lab seemed fascinated with her and wanted to take her picture and i think that might have been weirder than my arm motion that fit the context of the conversation.

March 23, 2011

to her credit, she was a really good sport with both things

March 25, 2011

RYN: Thanks for the warm notes and I hope everything goes well in your follow-up presentation, assuming you will have one 🙂 I’m feeling WAY better, and although I haven’t read the books I HAVE watched the first season of True Blood and loved the trashiness and drama of it all :D!! Thanks again! Hope your weekend is peachy and splendid!!