chutzpah

I just had an idea. I think I’m going to carry around at all times in my wallet a Get Out of Jail Free card from the Monopoly game. I figure it will help me if I get into a bind with the law.

“Well, Officer, it just so happens that I have a Get Out of Jail Free card right here this instant!”

“Hmm, you be right, son. Go’an! Geet!”

And then the village-folk will triumphantly congratulate me upon my scheming of the system. Parades will be held, banquets feasted upon, and lovely ladies bedded. It will be an extravaganza. A celebration unleashed upon the poor, unsuspecting peasantry. They will be left bereft of any innocence – awakening slothenly, hungover, and disshevelled. Upon untangling their limbs and otherwise detaching from the previous night’s olympic endurance, they will yawn, shrug, and continue on with their business. Never again will they discuss that night, never again will they ever look each other in the eye, for fear that they may catch sight of a reflection of events past. Never will they discuss the stranger that passed through town, the stranger that got out of jail… with a monopoly Chance card.

So I don’t really know where the hell that came from.

An old family friend stopped over spontaneously tonight, and we invited him to stay for dinner and a movie (Big Fish). It was nice to see him again.

I went out to dinner with Katarina, Chanty, Ed, and his sister. The destination was Osaka Sushi, and the victim was our stomachs. I ate a lot, thanks for the present Kat :D.

Tomorrow I get up early to go to NCIX and pick up my damn laser printer. After that I get the boot for Sunday.

Muahaha, its all coming together.

I’ve been working on an editorial that I will send to the local newspapers. In the letter I take the stance that Jack Layton’s moustache could be a far better leader than any of the major parties. It’s great fun and I’ve almost got it polished to how I want. I do hope they will print it.

Here is what I have so far:

Having recently turned 18, I’ve been acquainting myself with the voting options available. After much reading and thinking I have come to a very informed decision: Jack Layton’s moustache could lead the country far better than any of the buffoons leading the federal parties. In uncertain times such as these, it is easy to admonish Canada, as I have many times, for having no knight in shining armour. Clearly, I was mistaken. Jack Layton’s moustache has both the chutzpah and the level-headed reasoning required to really effect some badly-needed change in our great nation. Not only did his moustache not support the war in Iraq, but it takes a moderate stance on abortion – certainly not a jovial practice, but one that should be available, with constraint, so says the moustache. Following in the footsteps of great moustaches before it, such as Stalin’s legendary upper-lip warmer, Jack Layton’s moustache has shown great dexterity in both colour and shape. With all of this in mind I announce my full support for the leadership of Jack Layton’s moustache, and may it enjoy several successful terms at the helm of our proud nation!

It’s coming along. I think I might cut out the abortion part and insert a different issue just so they will be more inclined to publish it. Needless controversy, as my letter has nothing to do with abortion, it was just all I could think of besides Iraq.

Log in to write a note
May 22, 2004

on that note, purposely make faces for your Drivers license. Cops are people too, so if they see a funny picture when they pull you over, it lightens the mood a little bit, and your more likely to get off easy. Randomly Reading

May 22, 2004

wicked. yeah I get the monopoly vibes all the time, but I want to go to the cashier’s at the school and try to pay my fees and tuition with monopoly money. “whatever do you mean it’s not valid currency? last time i checked, I just past go…so take it mofo”

I can’t believe you compared it to the legendary Stalin lip warmer…my God!

Man thats funny. Get out of jail card…:) If I was an officer I would laugh and tell you to go. Brilliant!

that editorial is magnificent. sheer brilliance, i say. mr chaput will be impressed 😉

May 22, 2004

great editorial, i hope to see it published. maybe babych could be his vice primeminister of sorts… they have a lot in common.

May 22, 2004

wooo. talk about the vocab. i just read a few of your entries. Jeesaw, zebra… you roll mighty words.

🙂 awesome andrew. and instead of abortion, change it to eating babies.

May 23, 2004

I was very close to agreeing with Courtney on this one. Dave Babych’s moustache DOES kick ass. However, I do not think that we should elect him deputy PM. Instead, he should be crowned God. God of Canada. Chris

19th for me too.

Im gonna carry a “you won second prize in a beauty contest” card…get all them ladies.

gay marriage. yeah, i will agree about the rings. i got sushi for my bday too.

that’s amazing

you are by far the most eff-ing coolest person ive ever read an entry from…felt the need to tell you.