3/22/08

It’s the home stretch now. Clear of all but one final exam by April 4. Flying to Vancouver April 5-11 heavily laden with possessions in need of being returned home. Last final exam at UWaterloo (ever) on April 12.

Leaving from Pearson, bound for Heathrow: April 17.

And between now and then… an insurmountable amount of work. Urban design studio, goddamn you. Freight planning and policy? Fuck you too. And you, Ecology of the built environment–WELL, I have no patience for you, either (though I do find matters of solar gain and hydrographs scintillating, no joke). Heritage planning workshop and my TAing Professional Communication for the 1st years are also proving to be the bane of my existence.

Lots of stress. Finding very little time to trip plan. I don’t want everything obsessively planned, but certain things need to be arranged.

Also not looking forward for the bill to print 5-8 colour 24″x36″ panels. I estimate $500 easily, though split between 6 people this is more irritating than it is disastrous.

Also, my carbon footprint is ENORMOUS this year. I live very simply and take transit or walk everywhere, except that I have taken an ungodly amount of flights this year.

1. Returning from Christmas in Vancouver to Waterloo. (4.5h)
2. To Vancouver for reading week. (5h)
3. Returning to Waterloo at end of reading week. (4.5h)
4. April flight to Vancouver. (5h)
5. Returning to Waterloo at end of April flight. (4.5h)
6. Flight to London from Toronto. (?h)
7. Flight to Dublin from London. (?h)
8. Returning to London from Dublin. (?h)
9. Returning to Toronto from London. (?h)
10. Going home to Vancouver next day. (5h)
11. Back to Waterloo for convocation. (4.5h)
12. Returning home AGAIN, from convocation. (5h)
13. From Vancouver to PEI for vacation with family, tentative. (?h)
14. Returning home from PEI, tenative. (?h)

Fourteen flights in one year! For a university student! My god. It’s tiring just looking at the list.

Songs currently stuck in my head. Wedged, even.
1. Reggie and the Full Effect — Get Well Soon
2. Lupe Fiasco ft. Matthew Santos — Superstar

Things I have been too busy to do (thank you, Urban Design Studio):
1. Laundry
2. Grocery shopping.
3. Reading.
4. Work for any of my other 6 courses.
5. Watch a movie.
6. Go to a concert.
7. Take photographs.
8. Think.
9. Design (go figure).
10. Have sex (tragedy–though this weekend has found the girlfriend and I with some badly needed alone time).
11. Bring my iMac in to get its disc drive replaced.
12. Backup my data BEFORE I bring the iMac in to get fixed.

I’m done bitching for now. It’s funny to read this on screen as I come off quite bitter, though I’m actually in quite a good mood. Elated, even. The end is nigh!

Log in to write a note
March 25, 2008

i always come off hateful and angry, i think, when i write… which is a shame, i think im very positive outside of the vent zone. what are these 24×36″ panels and why are they so expensive? i can help you a bit with trip planning because i am so extraordinarily unbusy.

July 17, 2008

yea, he was born in romania. i’ve never given much thought to that though? You may be right

July 21, 2008

In response to your note. Friend Dave is moving to Ottawa. I know nothing more than that, and my geographic knowledge of north America is sadly not good enough even to place Ottawa on a map.