2/28/05

elderly woman
of laughter,
with five children now grown
with children of their own.
woman of difficulty,
who needs love
who needs care
who needs attention, compassion, patience.
who needs.
woman of a present god,
in constant conversation
saying prayers to mary
holding medals and rosaries
close at hand and heart.
woman of struggles untold,
who has been neglected
who has been forgotten
who has been left behind
by her own children at times
who should have shown her love.
imperfect woman,
who has hurt the ones who love her
who has forgotten birthdays
and anniversaries
who in years past has forgotten to show gratitude
for the small miracles others provide
who has forgotten her children in times of need
but who knows she has made mistakes.
changed woman
of repentence
who now has somehow knows the love she has
from her family
from her daughter
from god.
always murumuring prayers of thanksgiving
thanking god for life
for family
for community embracing her.
woman of many years,
who has taught me patience
who has taught me a different kind of love
that is not always easy.
woman of courage
who has taught me the power of trust in god
of letting go
offering up
in her soft silence and tears in evenings of fear of things to come,
in times of ultimate fear
the power of it when all seems hopeless.

Log in to write a note

You are a really good poet. (Now I must waste the remaining characters I am allowed to use because I can and the little ticker number keeps getting smaller and smaller and smaller. The Limit as time approaches infinity of the ticker is zero, and the time it takes to reach zero is directly proportional to my typing speed and the size of words I use. I do not want to calculate it. And I am done)