sweet home alabama all summer long..

i fail.. haven’t started the unsent letters… but first thing tomorrow! start of a new month 🙂 as for right now, i’m sitting in my tent at the campsite… on the internet :S i thought i’d bring my compy for music and imagine my surprise to find there’s a wireless connection here woot! don’t worry, this discovery won’t impede on all of the typical camping activities.. but it’s nice to feel "connected". i know that’s probably a (bad) characteristic prevalent in my generation, but i don’t feel bad. i don’t have a cell phone so i’m not constantly glued to that — the internet is my indulgence.. and vice. but i guess the good news is that since my cord isn’t long enough to reach the plug outside and i don’t want to leave the comfort of the tent, i only have a few minutes of battery power left…. so i’ll just share this one little thing that happened today that made me laugh. my dad and i were sitting by the fire just listening to music (a band is playing nearby) and

he says:"kirsten, do you smell sparklers?"

kirsten: "um no… i didn’t realize sparklers had a smell…."

dad: "oh yes, they do."

so we sat in silence for a few moments and then he stands up, pours half of his beer on himself and

says in a totally calm voice "it wasn’t sparklers, my shirt just caught on fire."

he was pissed… i guess a spark had flown up and landed on his sweater and un-noticed by him, burned a hole through it and left a burn mark on the shirt below. i couldn’t help it, i just started laughing and then so did he… sparklers….. oh my.

ok good night! can’t wait to write my first letter tomorrow and catch up with everyones’ entries!

 

Log in to write a note
August 1, 2010

Your dad has a pretty dead pan delivery for comedy – sounds like something I would say – so I smiled when i saw that.