Birth Story..Weight…all the good stuff!

So let’s try to make this as painless as possible! I had a doctor’s appointment on Thursday the 21st and after my routine ultrasound ( I was getting one every week), I went and pissed in the cup, weighed myself, and got my blood pressure drawn.  I had always had a trace of protein in my urine (+1), but on Thursday it was +4…my blood pressure was 161/113, and I was takin blood pressure medicine 2x’s a day.  So my ob was already over at the hospital delivering a baby, so they put me on the NST and took some blood for emergency labs to see if I had toxemia. So everyone  ( the nurses) thought that I would come back on Monday and possibly be induced then…I was okay with that.  Then they got my test results back, the doctor had checked my cervix and it was really thin, but not dialated (BOO!!!).  The first half of my blood results was GREAT, the urilic acid (I think that is what it is called… I was so damn nervous the whole time I really don’t remember half of what she was telling me) in my blood was 7.2 and it was supposed to be below 5.  So my ob told me to call everyone that wanted to be at the hospital when the baby was born and tell them that he would be here in a couple of hours! So I called my mom crying, then  I called my dad, then i called Brandian (the father of the baby) and he thought I was playing, and then i called my cousin Jai, and she thought I was playing too. I arrived at the hospital about 4:30 (it is connected to the building that my ob is in), and arrived at my room by 5:00.  When I got in there the anethegiolist (u know what I am trying to say, but for the purpose of not wanting to spell it again I will refer to him as the drug man) was in my room waiting on me.  So I got dressed, or rather undressed, and they started to try and put the iv in my hand, and he fucked up bad.  I was so damn nervous when they told me that he would be doing my epidural that I started crying again. (The epidural was the worst part of the whole thing, actually it was just the numbing part of the epidural…but so I digress).  And that is when they started to try and numb me…I believe I got about 6-7 shots of the epidural because he was not giving it enough time to set in. He was shooting it in my back about every 4-5 minutes, so by the time i was numb I was numb up to my breastbone.  Then they started wheeling us back to the operating room. ( my mom went back with me because his dad was in Clarksville and had to get off work and all that other stuff…he made it there shortly after though). I was so numb and heavy and out of it! I went back to the operating room at about 6:15 and he was born at 6:31p.m..  He was 4 weeks premature( my due date was October 18th, but by the date of conception I was due October 25th!) but still weighed in at 5lbs. 6oz. and is 18 inches long (Mama’s big boy!!)  He scored a 7 and a 8 on the APGAR and went to the regular nursery and had to be warmed up and monitered for his breathing because he was grunting when he was breathing.  I saw him 8 hours after he was born and instantly fell in love! I could hold him and cuddle him all day! I had to stay in the recovery room for 2 days because they could not get my blood pressure down. But once they did I got up and was walking and doing everything for myself.  I felt so good. I heard alot of c-section horror stories but I can honestly say that it did not hurt, and it does not hurt.  When they took out my staples I didn’t even feel it, and I don’t take my pain medicine except for 2x’s a day, if then! He is laying right beside me sleep.  Last night was not a good night because he has his nights and days mixed up so I am about to try and catch these last couple of cat naps with him just in case.  Oh yeah he was circumsized and I am formula feeding….since my blood pressure was up and I was on so many medicines at one time I wasn’t really allowed to pump and it took us forever to eat good from the bottle so I just chose to stick with it! I will edit later with pictures, I gotta learn how to resize them! 

P.S. I was 218 at my appointment on Thursday and when I left the hospital I was 195!! WHOOPEE!! I havve some more baby weight to lose and my stomach has to go down a little bit more.  Is it hard to get your stomach to tighten up after a c-section.?

Talk to you later ladies…if there is anything else you want to know just ask me!

Log in to write a note