Ugh, what I go through… hehe

Ok, so here I was sunday night, coming up with this great idea. Why not take the Cure DVD – Trilogy, (which has the cure playing 3 of their albums… live… straight through… mmmm) and get the audio portion and burn it to a set of CD’s. That way I can listen to the albums while driving and have my very own live concerts…. great idea, right? well, the first problem was finding a computer with a DVD player. ok, found one. then I had to get the software to demux and rip out the audio portion. After a few false starts got that working. Then… I had to find a way to take the audio and convert it over to a .wav format. more software. more false starts. then I find out that the .wav files that have been created aren’t transferrable to CD format. Uh oh. So, find a way to save the files in a different .wav format. (BTW each time, we’re talking about ripping several hundred megs of .wav files….

Now I finally get Windows Media player to save the audio file as a cd…. Uh oh… It’s a live album and windows is determined to put these 2 second pauses of silence in my cd…. errrr…. doesn’t sound right… but I have a cd burner that can burn an audio cd without putting those pauses in there… but it’s on another computer. and it doesn’t like wav files unless it’s specificly made…. Soooooooo I take the ENTIRE part of the concert and burn them as one track on the CD (3 different albums, 3 different CDs… all as one track….)

Then I take the damn thing and copy it over to my other computer…and then have to manually hack up each wav file into the individual tracks. and repeat the process for each CD. And then burn it back to another audio cdr.

so, 20 thrown away later (because of all the false starts and methods that just didn’t work)…. I have 2 of the 3 albums completed… and one more tonight…. If I give you a copy of this…. you’d damn well better be grateful… because this has been a stupid amount of work. ugh 🙂

but I think it’s worth it. I hope.

Log in to write a note
May 13, 2004

Good god dear I promise I will be grateful! My computer would’ve blown up if I had tried any of that.Good luck *hugs and meows at you*:-)

Oh geez you poor thing. If that had been me, I’d of shot the computer. I’ve had to reboot this computer b/c it had a corrupt file somewhere and just screwed up everything. Things would work and then *boom* they wouldn’t 5 mins later. I hate Windows XP. Anyways I wanna copy….j/k. I still listen to those cd’s you made me. *kiss nose* ~Nichole~

ryn: are you singing disney songs to me now?