Lollapalooza

Went to lollapalooza with my friend from Gainesville Florida (review to follow). She’s an interesting and enigmatic person. if you ask her if we’re dating, her answer is yes and no. my response is ‘it’s a long story’. suffice to say, I nearly pushed her away by getting a bit worked up and upset and stressed out over a relatively minor couple of things she said that I took the wrong way. I just hope things turn out ok. In all honesty, I’m a bit smitten by her, as well as a bit intimidated by her (her and her 5’1″ 100# self LOL) mainly because I’m fighting my own sense that i don’t deserve someone like her. I’m just hoping I can accept that she does like me, and not constantly worry. I’ve gotten better about it. but I guess it’s something that takes time to relax and trust someone.

On to Lollapalooza. We arrived at the beginning of Queens of the Stone age, which rocked pretty hard. not familiar with their stuff but it was pretty good. a bit generic, but good.

At this point we went and staked out a spot on the lawn. (it’s not going to rain…) and just kinda relaxed and watched incubus play. I was not impressed, and neither was my friend. Just not our style of music really. wasn’t anything specific.

On to audioslave. we’d been looking foward to audioslave. (‘this has gotta be better than incubus’) and of course audioslave is made up of ex-members of soundgarden and Rage against the machine so it can’t suck. right? oh dear lord. I was wrong. Audioslave was a terrible act for so many reasons. their music was slow and plodding. the acoustic stuff was marred (and their whole set, in fact) by the horrible vocals. Mind you, for my friend, the final straw was the horrifyingly ‘cover your eyes’ bad rendition of the white stripes. mmmyep. cover your eyes bad. that’s the only way to describe it.

So, on to janes addiction (the lolla girls sucked as well). Well, hmmm… The set started out strong with a blistering rendition of “stop”, followed up by “Ain’t no Right” woah. this is better than I dared hope (my expectations had been thuroughly smashed by audioslave at this point). Of course they had to play “Been caught stealing” eh… could be worse, it’s a fun song. Followed by “Whores”, and a song that I don’t remember the name of for some reason LOL, then “Ocean Size”, “Summertime Rolls” (beautiful song).

At this point, the skies started opening up, and I mean opened up. Lightning sheeting across the sky, illuminating the lawn in flashes of electric blue. Janes addiction continued with “Up the Beach”, Then their new hit “Just because” and to close out … “Three Days” (with an encore of “Jane says”).

wonderful amazing and so much fun. By the time we’d gotten to my car, I had one spot on my right foot that was dry, everything else was soaked, (I’d been wringing out my hair for about 30 minutes at that point. Fortunately we’d both been fairly smart and brought a change of clothes and took turns in the parking lot holding an unbrella while the other person stripped nekkid and dried off and got dressed… it was soooo cute! *grins*

take care, I’ll try to write more.

Log in to write a note

Queens of the Stoneage are pretty cool. I only like one Audioslave song, its just not my style of music.

I’m glad you had a good time. I’m glad I got to say hi to you there. I’m so glad things are working out between the two of you (finally). It makes me feel better that I’m not leaving you all alone. (I know I’m being selfish for feeling that way.) I will never be able to say I’m sorry to you enough times. I hope you forgive me for what I’ve done…..

*waves, stares at the screen, then vanishes into the dark of the night*

what’s a lollapalooza?