It was one of those nights…

Dropped my sorta roommate off at the Greyhound, and had a girl about 20 approach me and ask me for a ride to a concert taking place in Ybor City. It was an Industrial noise concert featuring Terrorfakt. I like noise and after a moment’s debate and a promise she wouldn’t kill me, I took her up on the offer….

one problem, neither one of us knew how to get to Ybor City.

For those that don’t know, in Tampa, there is a town within a town, called Ybor City, it’s the equivelent of Buckhead, if buckhead actually had a bunch (and I mean a bunch) of clubs and stuff within walking distance. There’s a large 2 story Open air mall (and yet it’s like an indoor mall with 2 stories… you just have streets running through it) The Masqurade (the sister club of the one in atlanta) is located here, along with The Castle, the gothclub that puts any goth club in atlanta to shame, (considering there are now zero gothclubs in atlanta, I can say this with some confidence).

anyway, after an extremely long round about way, we made it to Ybor city and saw the last 15 minutes of the concert (it was free). I’m not quite sure if it’s her personality or of she had some illicit substences in her bloodstream, but she was very interesting to talk to, kinda spacy, a silvery button up shirt, a wool vest with a skull on the back, a skirt and pants, and boots. oh and hair skinhead short. She walked aggressively, almost like an exaggerated man walk. (yes men and women walk different… if you haven’t noticed… shame on you)

so we talked about various bands, ranging from Joy Division to Skinny Puppy, Wumpscut, and a host of other things. She tended to make some hilarious over the top quotes from time to time, but I was so tired (it was like 1:30 by the time we were heading back to St. Pete… and as she calls me to invite me to go to Classic Goth Night on Friday at The Castle even as I type this) that I can’t remembe half of the pithy quotes. But we were debating if which of us was responsible for the hurricanes coming to florida. and she was hoping that it was her ‘fault’ and that it’d be cool if she was causing the chaos, and she could learn how to control it and send it where she wanted to go from her fingertips. whee!

so we went and listened to music and then watched a really really strange DVD of a comedy that I think was on HBO, the episode was the guys in a log cabin declaring independence from the US, and buying ‘shampoo’ from amsterdam, and that only british people can fly. and so on.

By that time it was 2:30 and since I do have to work, I started heading home…. then left my CD that I’d bought at the concert at her place. Oh well, I’ll grab it friday. (site note: Metropolis Records might be the best label out there right now. other labels may be cool but it’s just got some of the most creative and interesting music I’ve seen in a while Hot Topic has a Metropolis records compilation for sale cheap if you ever want to peek at some of their stuff.)

oh, And she’s gay.

LOL

Anyway, take care people…. Just wanted to relay this little evening of strangeness

 

Log in to write a note

Damn I was having high hopes that she and you would date. Damn damn damn!! Oh well atleast you found a friend which I’m glad of. NOT BLACK NOT BLACK NOT NOT NOT NOT!!!!!!!!!!! *hugs* ~*~Nichole~*~