Epilogue chapter 13.2 – The last piece

“Hopelessly adrift

in the eyes of the ghost again”

-The Cure – “Untitled”

Kay perched on top of a stony outcropping at the edge of of a cliff. Her chestnut hair whipped across her face as the drizzle matted the hair to her skin. The sky churned above as the city lights reflected across the darkened sky. Her eyes glittered with a deep red as she stared west towards the Atlanta skyline. Despite the wind, her body carried a deep stillness. Kay whispered, “Hello Mother,” Her voice was barely audible but still carried into the dark.

The raindrops slowly gathered together as Rhee took shape next to Kay. Kay didn’t turn but continued staring out towards the lights. “I spent my entire life trying to kill him, I spent every minute of my existance hating him. I wanted to eradicate him and everything he was.” Kay turned and held her hands out as she cried in anguish. “And it was a lie, all a horrible lie. I nearly killed him, nearly eradicated his very soul.” Her hands dropped, and she let her head droop. “And now, I don’t know what the truth is, I don’t even know what I really am.”

Rhee’s form flickered slightly and her hands moved gently to touch Kay’s face. “You’re Kay, you’re Katie Rachel Bell. And you’re my daughter, and you’re his daughter. He doesn’t hate you for what happened, In fact I think he came back for you.” Rhee smiled gently. “Or at least that’s part of the reason. And that’s reason enough.”

Kay kept her face down and muttered, “I can’t face him. I couldn’t face him. I was so close.”

“Then wait. You saved him in the end. Once you knew the truth.”

Kay interrupted Rhee with a shriek. “I don’t know what the truth is mother! I don’t know who is telling the truth and who is lying. I don’t know what the truth is anymore, I just know what it isn’t.” Kay pointed at her own head, stabbing at the flesh with her nail. “Lies.”

Rhee watched Kay’s outburst in silence. She paitently let the sobs subside as Kay wiped at her face. Then Kay continued. “I killed you, mother. I killed your spirit. I saw it blacken and die.” She looked up at Rhee as her bloodstreaked tears mingled with the rain. “Am I going insane? Am I insane?”

Rhee let her spirit flow around Kay, letting the soft glow suffuse through her body, “You couldn’t kill me my dear. Not like that.” Kay sobbed fiercely as Rhee whispered to Kay.

After a while Kay looked up, “All my life, I had a purpose, and now it’s gone, all gone.”

Rhee’s form slowly dimmed, “Then make a new one.”

“I don’t know what to do mother.”

“Yes you do. I’ll be here for you. you have but to ask.” Rhee slowly faded.

With the darkness complete, Kay turned and faced the city lights. She sat silently and whispered to herself over and over, “I don’t know what to do.” Then suddenly, she stopped. She stood up, looked over her shoulder to where Rhee had vanished, “I know what to do.” Kay paused for a moment then whispered again, “I’m sorry,” and stepped off the side of Stone Mountain.

Log in to write a note