Tuesday 9/24/24

6:18a.m. I’m above the dirt. I had a good night for a change. I had a very nice aide. I slept with no weird dreams ork nightmares. The aides cleaned me up and got me in my chair. But I’m wearing a hospital gown again. So far the hoyer pad isn’t hurting. I hope I have a better day today.  

8:09a.m. I fell asleep in my wheelchair. I woke up to my favorite breakfast of pancakes and sausage. Breakfast was delicious. I called Chocolatechip after I ate. She said there were no lights in the hallway. She called the OnCall number and George. Chocolatechip also said she is ready for recertification. Her appointment is at 11:00.  

10:02a.m. I had a bit of a shock this morning. My Kindle was not working. I had to reset it. Then I had to reenter my WiFi password and settings. It took awhile but I got it working again, thank God. I made up my mind that I’m saving up $50 a month for a new Kindle Paperwhite. I still should be able to get one by January of next year. 

I went to the Fiesta Room for the coffee social. I had a good time. I drank one cup then left for my room. I called Chocolatechip when I got back. She is ready for recertification. Also the lights in the hallway were on. Maintenance came early she said. They were working on something. 

I told her about the problem with the Kindle. She said I should of bought one when I had the money. I said it was foolish buying all those books. As it is now it will take me four months to save up for one. I said I was looking at one for $157. I want to buy a good one this time I said. We talked about it then she went to the office. 

I’m having a pretty good morning so far. I’m not in any kind of pain. The hoyer pad isn’t bothering me. Also , I haven’t been bothered too much with incontinence. Life is good .    

12:35p.m. I made it to the Fiesta Room for lunch. I read The White House Years by Henry Kissinger while waiting for my meal. They served cream of broccoli soup, potato salad, two sloppy joe sandwiches and pineapple crisp for dessert. I ate my meal then went back to my room. 

I called Chocolatechip. Certification went well. Her rent didn’t go up that much she said. I was glad to hear that. I told her I was looking at Kindle Paperwhites on Amazon. I saw one for $168.99. I’m definitely buying that in January. She asked if I get an actual gift card or virtual. I said an actual. I load it on my account and spend it. That way no money can be stolen. That is a good idea she said. We talked for awhile then she had to take meds. 

I intend to read this afternoon I was reading about Nixon’s decision to open relations with China. I thought this was a very interesting chapter.    

2:12p.m. I was down a bit. I was kicking myself in the butt for spending $174 on books. I could just as easily used that.moneh too buy a new Kindle. I kept asking myself why do I do dumb things? Well for one thing I don’t like keeping gift cards in my room . They will get stolen.  But I could just of easily bought a new Kindle. I was telling Chocolatechip I need to spend my money wisely.   

Chocolatechip said I love books. Amazon accounts have been hacked before. She didn’t blame me.In  way it was a good investment..     Those books are mine to keep now and I can always read them again. Four months isn’t that long she said. I felt better after talking to her. But I sure do dumb things with my money. 

I’m in bed now. The aide put me in bed around 1:30. She did a good job. She cleaned me up and put cream on my sore butt. I was a bit soaked and needed my briefs changed.Getting cleaned up helped made me feel better. Now I hope I can concentrate on The White House Years by Henry Kissinger     

I’m determined though not to buy anything from Amazon until January. I will have $200 by then. That should.be.enough for a decent Kindle.   

6:35p.m. Supper was delicious. They served bruschetta chicken, rice pilaf, peas, a dinner roll and banana pudding. I ate it all. I talked with Chocolatechip. She was telling me about recertification . Then we talked a bit about the news. Biden gave  speach at the UN today. I said conflict in the Mid East is expanding. Israel launched air strikes on Beirut killing 270. I said war over there never ends.  Then I saw in the paper where there will be a big dockworkers strike in California. This will upend the economy. Frankly,I’m giving the new a break.    

I had a so so day. At least the hoyer pad didn’t hurt. My mood fluctuated over my Kindle. I was really castigating myself for blowing all that money on books. That waiis really good stupid on my part. But I will save up my money and buy a Kindle in January. At least I was able to get the one I have working.       

7:37 p.m. I’m one happy old man. I got a shower and a shave. I hadn’t had a shower in almost a month. Now I’m all cleaned up. I feel great. I hope I can concentrate on The White House Years by Henry Kissinger.

 

 

Log in to write a note
2 weeks ago

Bear, there are things about myself that I don’t like too.  I’m learning to be gentler and kinder to myself one day at a time.