Tuesday 9/10/24

10:07a.m. I’m above the dirt and blessed with another day in the nursing home. I had a weird dream last night. I was in this courtroom.  The defendent was on trial  for murder. There was this man. I think he was the sheriff. He was signaling the witness to tell a lie about the case. I think they wanted to convict an innocent man.

I was up for good in time for breakfast. I had a coffee cake cake and a cheese omelette. It was good. I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She was going over a shopping list for tomorrow. She knows exactly what she wants and the cost down to a penny. Chocolatechip is getting cleaning supplies and groceries. She is getting the ingredients to make her famous homemade chili. I said her chili rocked my world.

The aide got me dressed and in my wheelchair early. She did a good job. I made it to the Fiesta Room for the coffee social. I asked the guy serving coffee if they were going Walmart shopping this month. He said they are but he didn’t know when . Anyways I had a nice cup of hot coffee then left for my room.

I did a lot of reading in my book The Truths We Hold by Kamala Harris. I finished one chapter last night. I got three more chapters left . I hope to finish it today. I must say the Harris book was an eye opener. She changed my views on a lot of things. I was going to vote for her because I can’t stand Trump. But her book convinced me she is the best choice.

I have today’s menu. For lunch I’m having a chicken fillet sandwich, garden lea salad, and cinnamon apples. For dinner I’m having roasted turkey, brussel sprouts, mashed potatoes and a peach cobbler . At least I’m not getting ham and pinto beans.

12:30p.m. I went to the Fiesta Room for lunch. I had a chicken sandwich. I was told they are going Walmart shopping on the 18th. I stopped at the business office. I was told I will be getting $179 this month. I don’t understand how it will be this high At most I should be getting $95. I won’t believe it until I have it in my big fat hands.

I talked with Chocolatechip after I got back to my room. She had a bad experience with the Transit company. She was down at the city building trying to enquire about a bus pass for October. They wouldn’t answer the door to give her service. She was pissed because she made a special trip down there. Chocolatechip said they just lost a good customer.

Well I’m supposed to have that big meeting today..I. got my questions lined up for them. It is at 1:45 this afternoon. I’m putting them all on the table.

3:25p.m. I had that meeting I was able to address my concerns They said they will get me up at 5:30 so I can attend the morning activities . They will also get new glasses for me plus a much needed hearing aide. Then they will have a nurse look at my redness. They will also check into the gift card situation and getting a new hoyer. They were all very nice. I hope something gets done.

I read a lot of interesting articles from the paper. Then Darla from physical therapy came. I thought I did a great workout. I did three sets of twenty for all leg exercises. Then I did twenty push ups. This involved pushing myself up from my wheelchair. While doing exercises we  talked politics. Darla is for Harris.

I’m having a good day. I’m ready to be put to bed though. I’ve been sitting on this hoyer pad for over  seven hours. My butt is very sore. The aide was going to put me in bed earlier. Then I had PT. She has not been back. I bet I will be staying in my wheelchair until after supper.

6:09p.m. Supper was delicious. I ate it all and didn’t get bloated. Chocolatechip went bed before supper. The case manager is taking her to Walmart at 7:30. So she has  to get up early. I’m still in my wheelchair and very soaked.  I will have to wait at least an hour for help. The aides are taking care of dinner trays. It can’t be helped I guess. Still, I hate sitting in urine for so long. It is degrading.

Despite this I am going to try and read The Truths We Hold by Kamala Harris. I hope I can finish at least one chapter tonight. I’d like to get that done so I can watch the debate tonight.

9:24p.m. The aide put me to bed at 7:00. I didn’t have too long to wait. I read Chapter 8 in my book. But I can’t watch the debate. I can’t hear the blasted tv unless I turn it up all the way. This makes way too much noise according to staff. So I guess I will read about it in The New York Times tomorrow morning. I was looking forward to watching this one.

10:51p.m. I can’t sleep. I had way too much coffee today. Also I am thinking about all that money I’m getting, $179. I hope I get a nice big fat Amazon gift card. My current gift card Ballance is $3.10.Ifni get the money this will be $182.10. I have it spent already. I’m going to blow it all on you books if I get this windfall.

What I’d like to buy is a boxed set of Stephen King’s Dark Tower series for $122.99. Then Decent Interval by Frank Snepp for $26.49 and In Retrospect by Robert McNamara for $14.99. The total should come to 16447. I’m saving the rest for a David Baldacci book coming out on November 12  To Die For. The  oldDark Tower series consists of eight books.  So I’ll be buying eleven books.

I’m a very foolish old man. I read the Dark Tower series twice before. It seems crazy to spend that much money on books I already read. But I love these books. I think they are King’s greatest work. I could read them all a million times I do not know for sure I’m getting this much money but I have it spent already.

Anyways this is keeping me awake tonight. I swear I’m crazy as a loon

 

 

.

P.

 

. .p

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 10, 2024

I’m glad to hear they listened to you and agreed to help. I hope they get you what you asked for quickly.