Tuesday 12/19/23

8:20a.m. I am having a halfway decent morning with minor aches and pains. Aides got me out of bed at five. I was in my wheelchair when Chocolatechip called. She was in good spirits. The exterminator is supposed to come and check her apartment. Chocolatechip said the bed bug situation has improved 100% she might be cleared. She also talked about the spat she had with Elaine. Chocolatechip said it might be a good idea if Elaine didn’t come up for fear of WW111 starting.

I didn’t have much to say. I was half asleep. I’m not much good in the morning until I get my coffee. I fell asleep in my wheelchair and slept for an hour. Chocolatechip called again. She said she has a telephone interview with her nurse practitioner, Rachel. I guess they are going to talk about the new med she is getting. We talked for a few minutes thenceforth she wanted to take a shower.. 

I fell asleep again. I slept until they served breakfast. I had two slices of ham, pancakes and oatmeal. Breakfast was delicious and the coffee worked its magic. I was all set to start an entry when I got kicked out of my room. They want to give it a good cleaning.

I’m at the nurse’s station now . I’m already hooked up to my oxygen tank. I’ll be going to the Fiesta Room shortly for more coffee. Life is good!

10:26a.m. I made it to the  Coffee Social. I had one cup. I am afraid I wasn’t in good spirits. I got a bad case of depression. I call it the Christmas blues I drank my coffee then fell asleep. Nobody talked to me and that made the depression worse. So I made my way back to my room.

Christmas is supposed to be happy time of year. But not for me because the depression always gets worse. The Holidays are a bad time of year for a lot of people for many are alone and forgotten. I feel extremely alone and forgotten this year. Thank God I have Chococolatechip. I would be lost without her.

I just got off the phone. Chocolatechip had a lot of phone calls to make. She talked with her nurse practitioner. Rachel does not think she needs to go on the unit. This new med she takes will help stabilize her. Chocolatechip also called her foot doctor for an appointment. Then she saianytjingd the exterminator is coming between 1-2. We talked for a little bit then she had to get busy.

I don’t know what is making me so depressed today. I think I’m very disappointed about not getting anything from the nursing home. Chocolatechip said I still might get something. There are six days until n Christmas. I said it isn’t going to happen. I am very disappointed over not getting a gift card. I think that’s why I’m so depressed.

S  said she hopes to get a gift card next month. It depends on her Comcast bill. It is supposed to increase in January. I asked how her budget looks next month. She does not know. I said a gift card would be nice but I don’t expect anything.  I understand money is very tight and I don’t want you to do without. 

12:21p.m. I’m just sitting in my wheelchair waiting for lunch. According to the menu they are serving sweet and sour meatballs over rice , broccoli and a dinner roll. Then I was supposed to get that the other day. You can’t always go buy the menu

I’m feeling a bit better. I just had my lunch drinks. Coffee always makes me feel better. Then I did get meatballs .Lunch was delicious  and I ate everything.

3:13p.m. I’m in bed now. I didn’t have to  do some wait for the aides. I think I rang the call light around 1:00. The aides came within a half hour. They were good aides. She did a good job in cleaning me up and changing my briefs.  They were also pretty friendly The aide who took care of me was new. But she did an excellent job. I can’t complain about the care today.

I was chatting with Chocolatechip. The exterminator came at 2:00. He sprayed her apartment for bed bugs. She hasn’t been seeing any since the last spray. I guess they just want to do a thorough job and get rid of the problem for good.  Chocolatechip had to be out of her apartment four hours.She plans on doing laundry

I also did a little reading. I started to read Song of Susanna by Stephen King I am at an interesting part of the story. The author wrote himself into the story. He meets up with the gunslinger, Roland Dechain and Eddie Dean. I plan on doing a lot of reading today. 

6:51p.m. I read until supper. They served deluxe macaroni and cheese, coleslaw a dinner roll and two sugar cookies. I ate everything. I feel a little bloated. On a 1-10 scale pain level is a 4. It will pass I hope. If not a good dose of Mylanta with evening meds will do the trick.

Today was a pretty good day. I didn’t have too much arthritis pain. I received excellent care. I read for about an hour this afternoon. I talked with Chocolatechip a lot. Then I had three good meals. It doesn’t get any better than this. Life is very good.

 

littlr

 

 

 

D

 

 

 

N  AND 

 

 

 

 

 

W

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

H

 

Log in to write a note