Tuesday 12/12/23

4:25a.m. That dream I had last night was terrible. I was a Civil Rights worker in  Mississippi during the early 60s.The police arrested me and I was in a small town jail. One of the guards was big and mean. But I tried to fight him when he was beating me up. He was killing me. This was when I woke up screaming for help and knocking over my table. 

I was pretty shook up. I had a hard time falling asleep. I was in and out of it the rest of the night. I felt like hell when the aides woke me up at 4. They were not too gentle or friendly. One pulled on my bad knee and it hurt like hell.  But they got me dressed.l am in my wheelchair I’m still a bit shaken from my dreams.

But I’m above the dirt Surprisingly I don’t feel too tired. Instead of sleeping I think I will try and read until breakfast Maybe I can forget about that that awful nightmare

7:26a.m. I ended up sleeping in my wheelchair untill breakfast. Breakfast consisted of toast and scrambled eggs. I also had my coffee and juice. I still feel tired. Also. arthritis in my leg and shoulders is flairing up. Nurse gave me some Tylenol with my morning meds. Tylenol does not help.

I managed to talk with Chococolatechip. She had a bad nightmare. In her dream she we got into a very bad argument. I tried to kill her but she ended up killing me in self defense. Chocolatechip still got in trouble with the law. 

I thought this was very weird. Both of us had dreams about me being killed. In my dream I was killed by a prison guard. In het dream she killed me. I ended up dead in two different dreams on the same night. I wonder if something is trying to send me a message.

9:22a.m. I have been sleeping a lot. I woke up just in time for the Coffee Social. I’m in the Fiesta Room now waiting for my brew. Damn. I’m tired today. I hope the coffee will wake me up.  I have books to read. 

12:50p.m. I did a lot of reading while at the Coffee Social. I read five Chapters from Exodus. I enjoyed reading about the plagues God inflicted on Egypt. Each time Pharaoh refused to let the Israelites go. Was this of his own will? The Bible says the Lord hardened Pharaoh’s heart. The Lord wanted to inflict ever increasing punishments on the Egyptians for enslaving his people. He also wanted the Israelites to know that He brought them out of bondage.

I also read Song of Susanna by Stephen King. I read this book for a about an hour. Then they served lunch. I had two grilled cheese sandwiches, tater tots and ambrosia for dessert. Lunch was good. I also had two coffees and a glass of fruit punch. All in all I had a good time at the social.

I made my way back to my room after I ate Chocolatechip’s new caregiver starts today. She works from 10-2. I’m under strict orders not to call while the caregiver is working. I can read during this time. 

3:52p.m. I am in bed now. They are having Bible study tonight at 7. I really wanted to go. But the darned Hoyer pad in started to hurt and I desperately needed my briefs changed. So I put on the call light. This time the the aide came  right away. She did a good job in getting me ready for bed and was friendly. Still this was the first time I got changed since 4am. I do not think that is right

Other than that I had a good afternoon. I read for a little over an hour in Song of Susanna by Stephen King. I’m enjoying the story. It is good but very weird. So far the story centers around a woman about ready to give birth to a demon baby. I must be weird for liking this shit. Stephen King isn’t for just anybody.

I finally talked with Chocolatechip. She was busy with her caregiver for four hours. She also had a CMP appointment early today. So she was very busy. But she talked about making a cheese ball for the Bible Study group. This group is holding a party Friday forme everyone in Misery Towers. Chocolatechip didn’t know that until after she promised to bring something. 

I was talking to her about what I read in the Bible this morning. She asked if I understood it. I said my NIV Study Bible helps explain things. I also mentioned about how I been wanting to go to that Bible Study group. I just can’t stand to sit on that Hoyer pad all day. I said I’ll probably never get to go. Oh well I can and do read the Bible anytime.

Speaking of reading I want to get back to Song of  Susanna. I will read until suppertime. Heck, I want to read forever.

5:55p.m. I didn’t eat supper the meat was too dry for me. I had a pot roast,  mashed potatoes, broccoli and a dinner roll. I did eat the chocolate ice cream for dessert plus I had my juice and coffee. I had a big lunch so I wasn’t too hungry. 

I called Chocolatechip but no answer. She might of been downstairs waiting on a package from Amazon. Then she might of conked out on me. She had been up since three . I bet she was just plain exhausted.

7:46p.m. I’m about done for the day. I have done  enough reading. I’m tired and want to sleep. Goodnight

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 12, 2023

I’m sure you’ve read about dreams in the Old Testament. In the Talmud, the following is stated: “sleep is 1/60 of death, and dreams are 1/60 of prophecy.” What do you make of that (except the ancients obsession with a number system based on 60?)

December 12, 2023

@ravdiablo I never heard about the number system . I read about Joseph and how he was able to interpret dreams. God spoke to him through dreams.

December 12, 2023

@bear70 Yep – and Jacob wrestled with an angel that may have appeared in his dream.