Thursday 9/26/24

8:08a.m. I’m above the dirt. I’m doing very well this morning. First I did a lot of reading in The White House Years by Henry Kissinger last night. I fell asleep at the usual time. I slept well with no weird dreams. The aides got me dressed and in my wheelchair by 4:30. I read my book for an hour then slept in my wheelchair. I was up for good by 7:00.

I talked with Chocolatechip for awhile. She said she was sick last night. Then somebody phoned her at 4:30 this morning. It wasn’t me I said . We talked briefly until they served a very cheesy breakfast. Ii had toast, a little scrambled eggs and runny oatmeal. I ate it all without a complaining.

I feel very chipper. I’m going to have a good day. If you start the day off with a positive attitude it lasts all day. Well , I have a kick ass attitude this morning. I’m having a good day.

10:08a.m. Things are going well today. I went to the Fiesta Room for the coffee social. I had two cups. I read the Kissinger book the went back to my room. I have today’s menu. For lunch they are serving chicken & cheese,quesadilla rice fiesta corn and jello. Then for dinner it is Sicilian roast beef, green beans, creamed potatoes and Tuxedo cheesecake bar. I have two goo meals today. Life is good.

12:25p.m. I made back to the Fiesta Room for lunch. It was delicious. I ate everything. I read more of my after I ate. Then I went back to my room. I’m in for the day and would like to be put back in bed. But the aides are taking care of lunch trays.

1:20p.m. I’m in a lot of pain “down below.” I’m soaked. The sores on my thighs are drenched in urine. I was screaming out in pain because I could not reach the call light. An for aide said give me a few minutes. This means I will have to sit in urine for at least an hour. I was having a good day until I drenched myself.

I was telling Chocolatechip about this on the phone. She is going to call APS. By law the call light is supposed to be in reach all the time.  Most of the time it is on the floor out of reach. I hope she does make that call. There is absolutely no excuse. This is neglect pure and simple.

1:58p.m. I’m cleaned up and in bed. YaY! The aides did a good job when they finially got to me. But I had to wait over an hour for help. I was very miserable. I do not understand why lunch trays come before needs of the patient. I keep telling them they need a float during meals. But nobody listens to me. I still hope Chocolatechip calls APS.

Other than this little bump I’m having a good day I’m going to spend the rest of the day reading The White House Years by Henry Kissinger.

2:32p.m. I’ve been looking at books. Other than reading this is my favorite pastime. I’m still saving up my money. By January I will have $200.67 available. I know I said I was buying a Kindle. But God help me I for I can’t help myself. I think I will use that money to buy a total of eighteen books if the Kindle is still working

I will never forget what a rush I had in blowing $174 on books. I swear I felt like a spoiled rich kid at Christmas time. I would love to experience that high again. By January I should have read most of those books. I’m thinking now if my Kindle is still working why the hell not? Yes I know I’m a foolish old man. But books and reading are one of the few pleasures I have left.

4:05p.m. Chocolatechip called. She just got back from the doctor appointment. She had none good and bad news to report. Theo new cell phone from Assurance Wireless came today. She will activate it asp.intold.her they finially put me in bed and I was ok. We talked for a few minutes then she wanted to fix something to eat.

I have been reading The White House Years by Henry Kissinger. I’m almost finished with Chapter VII “Defense Policy and Strategy.” I’m on a section called The Nixon Doctrine. I think this has something to do with how the U.S. would respond to a Soviet attack in Europe and a Chinese attack in Asia at the same time. It was a bit complicated and I didn’t fully understand it. I’ll have to read over it again.

I hope to finish this Chapter and get on with Chapter VIII. The next one is about Vietnam. In many circles Nixon and Kissinger are regarded as war criminals for their part in that conflict. But that war was brought toViet them by decisions made by Kennedy and Johnson. I think they tried their best to bring about an honorable and just peace. But still I think we should of just cut our losses and got out as best we could. It would of saved us needless casualties.

I haven’t been reading the NYT. I want to get back to it. I just got burned out by the news. It gets so depressing. I did look at the headlines today. I saw where the mayor of New York, Eric Adams, was indicted on Federal charges. I do not know what charges. But he will be forced to resign. Then I saw where Florida is bracing for another hurricane. It had been upgraded to a Category 2.

I will get back to reading the paper. I am just engrossed in the Kissinger book right now. I have a hard time reading two things at once.

6:27p.m. I ate all my supper. It was delicious. The meat wasn’t too spicy. Even the mashed potatoes were good. I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She got her new cell phone set up. She said she is not giving out her new number to anyone in the building. I said that is a great idea. You just can’t trust anyone in Misery Towers. We talked for about ten minutes then she went to bed.

I am a bit bloated from supper. I’m not in too much pain though. I just feel over stuffed.  It will pass. I hope I don’t get too sick because I want to read The White House Years by Henry Kissinger. I got to finish Chapter VII tonight and start on the “Agony of Vietnam.”.

8:10p.m. I have been laying in poop and pea since supper. The aide keeps telling me she will be right in. But this has not kept.me from reading The White House Years by Henry Kissinger. I finished Chapter VII. I read a little bit on the Vietnam chapter. I’ll write more about this tomorrow.

9:10p.m. I just got my briefs changed. She cleaned me, put cream on my sores and gave me a clean gown. I hope I can stay this way.

 

 

.

 

De

Log in to write a note
2 weeks ago

I wish I ate as well as you…..

2 weeks ago

@ravdiablo  I’m very lucky to have three good meals a day