Thursday 7/25/24

7:54a.m. I’m above the dirt. I had a good night for a change. The care was decent. The aides came in three times to change my briefs. I was not laying in urine half the night. I was up for good by 7:00 when they served breakfast drinks. I just ate a cinnamon roll for breakfast.        

I was talking to Chocolatechip after I ate. She is doing great this morning. She talked about Bingo last night. She won a lot of nice prises. She had a good time she said. I said it’s a good sign you are socializing. She agreed saying that it did her good. Then she talked about going to church Sunday. She might try the Salvation Army which is down the street. 

I read ready about Biden’s address last night in the New York Times. I thought it was great. He dropped out of the race because he felt it was time to pass the torch to a new generation and protect democracy. He is said it was an honor to served this country for over fifty years. Biden has six months to go. He will spend the time doing his job and helping Kamala Harris win. I think hem did the right! thing in dropping out of the race. He put country before self. 

I also listened to my audiobook   Vietnam: A History by Stanley Karnow until 11:00. I’m on Chapter 13. I thought this was a sad period and tragic period in our history. Chapter 13 is about the beginning of combat operations in the South and the bombing campaign in the North. The bombing campaign did not stop the insurgency as was hoped Nor did the north seek Johnson’s offers of a settlement. It only stiffened their resolve to win.    

10:26a.m. I’m dressed and in my wheelchair. I didn’t like the aides who was a bit rough. Also she didn’t put cream on my sores. Then I finiay talked to the nurse practitioner. I told her about my current symptoms which are congestion and a bad cough. Then I talked with Dr Cosy my psychiatrist. We talked about my bad cold and the lousy care I’ve been getting. I said last night was ok but that was an exception. She didn’t have much else to say when I said my biggest gripe was no care. That was the extent of our conversation.   

 I don’t feel so hot. This damned cough is lingering and lingering. I’ve been sick since last Sunday and there is no light at the end of the tunnel. This damned cold is really kicking my butt. I wish they will give me something.   

1:36p.m. I’ve been reading several interesting articles from the New York Times . I’ve been reading the paper all morning. I stopped when they took a a chest x ray. Then I had two chicken tacos,fiesta corn and jello for lunch. I went back to the paper and finished reading it

Not much else has been happening . The nurse just gave me some cough medicine. I hope this helps. I’m going to listen to my audiobook Vietnam A History by Stanley Karnow 

6:30p.m. I listened to my audiobook on Vietnam. I finished one chapter. I turned it off around supper . I had Sicilian beef, creamed potatoes, green beans angel food cake. It was  delicious. I t talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She filled me in on some juicy stories about Misery Towers We talked about forty minutes then she went to bed.  

I was in a lot of pain while we talked. My briefs were rubbing against my thighs hitting the sores. It hurt like hell. I had the call light on. The damned CNA who answered it said ” Gimme a minute!” and left. That was about an hour ago. She has not been back. Fortunately it isn’t hurting now but I’ll still need to be changed. Fucking aides 

My roommate is an asshole. All he does is scream for help all day long. He gets on my nerves. I’m tired of is shit. I mean I am afraid of turning on my TV or playing my audiobook for being too loud. He makes more noise than I do it’s frustrating as hell.   

8:07p.m. I’m taking a a break from my audiobook because I’m getting madder by the minute. It is the same old story. I’m soaked and have been trying to get changed since supper. I got the call light on but the fucking aides won’t help. I’ve been laying in urine for for two hours. No fucking wonder I lose my cool. 

The only thing that keeps me sane are my books. I’ve been listening to my audiobook Vietnam: A History by Stanley Karnow. I don’t know what I like better. Listening to someone read to me or reading the book myself. But one thing about an audiobook is I have to concentrate on the narrator. I am finding this harder to do because I need cleaned up. Damn I’m mad! 

Once again I have the call light on. I’ll get back to my book and do the best I can to concentrate until the aide gets off her ass.  

8:40p.m. Ok I’m an asshole. The aide came right away. She did a great job in changing me. She was friendly as well. Now I can get back to my book. 

 

 

 

 

P

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 27, 2024

Sounds like a good day for you, Bear!