Thursday 7/18/24

5:00p.m. I had a very shitty day for some reason. I was up at the usual time. I ate some of my breakfast. I fell back asleep. The aides got me dressed and in my wheelchair by 9:45. I missed the coffee social. I fell asleep in my wheelchair and slept almost all morning I woke up at 11:30. I made my way to the Fiesta Room for lunch.

I had two BBQ pork sandwiches, ice cream and a fruit cup. I had an extra coffee that finially started my motor running. I saw Doug sitting with my roommate. That didn’t bother me. In fact I didn’t hear anyone talking about me so I had a good time. I stayed for about an hour then made my way back to my room.

I started to feel better after lunch. I spent the rest of the afternoon reading interesting articles from the NYT. I read several about last night’s convention. I also read where Biden was tested positive for COVID. He is isolating!himself at his home in Delaware. Then I read where more congressional leaders such as Senator Chuck Schumer and Hakeem Jeffries and even Nancy Pelosi have urged Biden to step down from the race.  It wouldn’t surprise me that he does step down.

I was having a good time reading these articles. Then I had a major incontinence episode. I wanted to be put in bed. But the aides would come turn off the call light and walk away. Finially an aide said she would put me down at 4:00. So I had to sit in urine all afternoon. That was what made it shitty.

Supper was also shitty. They served beef stir fry with peppers, rice a dinner roll and a peanut butter bar. The meat was tough and spicy. I do not like spicy meat.

7:46p.m. I’ve been listening to Vietnam: A History by Stanley Karnow. I’m on Chapter 3. The author discusses the long history of Vietnamese nationalism. It is interesting. 

I’m feeling better. My stomach has settled down.i just had a nice aide who put lotion on my sores and changed my wet briefs.

Also I read the latest article about Biden. The author’s claim that reality is sinking in. He may consider stepping down from the race. He will endorse Kamala Harris. But most officials claim he ha no intention of doing so. Here is part of the article :

White House officials denied that the president was moving toward dropping out, dismissing reports to the contrary as a result of a coordinated campaign of leaks by Democratic leaders to escalate the pressure on Mr. Biden. While they said he was listening to the concerns and taking them seriously, he had not changed his mind about pulling out and made clear to aides in the last 24 hours that he remained determined to stay in the race.

Will Joe go or stay in the race? That is the burning question

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 18, 2024

Joe Biden was a very good president; none of his accomplishments would be diminished if he stepped aside. But he will put shame on his legacy if he loses to Trump.

July 18, 2024

@ravdiablo I thought he was a great President. I’m voting Democrat whoever the candidate

July 19, 2024

I’m glad you have the New York Times to read.  I read the Washington Post.

July 19, 2024

@wildrose_2 That is a good paper. I can’t afford both