Thursday 12/7/23

6:05ta.m. I had another hellish  night thanks to arthritis i kept getting muscle spasms in my left leg. This occured all night long. I hurt like hell. I had two extra strength Tylenol but that didn’t help. Because of this didn’t sleep well. When I did sleep I had very weird and disturbing dreams. In short my night was pure hell.

7:10a.m I’m feeling a little better. I just had my coffee and orange juice. The drinks seemed to help with the pain. Pain now seems to be concentrated on my left foot and right shoulder. I could use an Ibuprofen which is a wonder drug.But for some reason nursing home doesn’t give that.

I just had a good breakfast of three pieces of French toast. A good meal always restores my spirits. I felt like I’ve been through the mill but I will be ok. I’m above the dirt and blessed with another day. 

 9:411a.m. Despite the arthritis I made it to the coffee Social. It started to flair up again as I made my way to the Fiesta Room. Once again I hurt like hell. I’m hoping large amounts of coffee will ease the pain. But I don’t know what I’m going to do if this continues. I cannot continue on like this.

I always said I don’t want to start on pain killers. They are very addictive. I was always afraid of ending up being a junkie. But I’m getting to the point where I don’t care. I can’t live with the pain much longer. I need something stronger.

I’m scheduled to go to the pain clinic in Steubenville on Dec 21. Chocolatechip was saying I don’t want to start on opiodes. I said they might give me a Cortisone shot in my knee.  But it seems I have arthritis all over my body now. I don’t know what they will do. I just hope they do something.

1:09p.m. I stayed in the Fiesta Room for lunch. They served two beef taco and a cup of vanilla ice cream. After lunch I made my way back to my room. I had a hard time of it but I made it on my own. After I made it a k I called Chocolatechip. We talked for a few minutes then she went to check her mail.

I’ve about had it for the day. I’m ready for bed. Constantly dealing with pain is physically and mentally exhausting. I’m just about played out. But I don’t want to sleep. I have books to read. I want to finish Wolves of the Calla by Stephen King. I have five more chapters. If I keep at it I hope to finish it by Saturday. Next up is Song of Susanna. This is the sixth book in the Dark Tower saga.

I also want to read my Bible. I finished Chapter 37 in Genesis.i was reading about Joseph and his brothers, sons I think of Jacob (Israel) Joseph was hated by his brothers. He was the youngest and most favorite. They eventually sold Joseph to the Midianites who in turn sold him to Potiphar, and Egyptian official This was the last part in Chapter 37 The next chapter talked about Joseph’s life i,n Egypt. Because Joseph was favored and protected by God, he rose from slave to an important advisor to the Pharaoh. 

But it is very hard to concentrate when you are in constant pain. I tried reading while I was at the social but just couldn’t concentrate. I was very tired and in a lot of pain. Every bone in my body ached and I was getting constant muscle spasms. Reading anything was the last thing on my mind. I feel better now so I hope to get back to my books this afternoon. 

8:02p.m. I managed to read a few chapters in Genesis. I read for about an hour. I read about how Joseph became a leader in Egypt equal to Pharaoh. Joseph interpreted Pharaoh ‘s dreams that nobody else could. Egypt was able to prepare for a seven year famine that effected the entire region, including Canaan where Jacob and his remaining sons lived.

I read how the famine affected Canaan. Jacob sent his sons,except for Benjamin, to buy food in Egypt. By now Joseph is a ruler in Egypt. The brothers come to Joseph and bow down to him. Eventually Joseph reveals his identity. He brings the rest of the family to Egypt and they live in Goshen. All of this story plays out according to God’s plan.

I also talked with Chocolateschip until supper. Supper was delicious. They served chicken, scalloped potatoes, carrots  a dinner roll and cake for dessert. I ate it all and didn’t get bloated or sick. I rested after I ate and slept for an hour or so.

I’m still bothered with arthritis. I’ve been getting muscle spasms in my knee all damned day. Also have pain in my wrist and shoulders. Also the aides are being shits. I’ve been trying to get changed since supper. They just turn off the call light and walk on down the hall. It looks like the start of another miserable night.

Surprise surprise I just got changed. She wasn’t too friendly and a bit rough but I got changed 

 

 

 

 

 

b

it

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Z

 

Fay

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Red

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

out 

 

 

 

 

 

to trade

?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

W

 

 

.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 7, 2023

The arthritis pain sounds awful; I know how hard it is trying to live with terrible pain (kidney stones, sciatica.) Is there a doctor on staff who can prescribe something stronger to help you? This just doesn’t seem right.

December 7, 2023

@ravdiablo  No it is not right. Like I said I’m going to the pain center on December 21 perhaps they will give me something stronger