Sunday 7/14/24

1:21p.m. I’ve been reading abou the assination in the New York Times. The shooter was Thomas Mathew Crooks, aged 20. He was from Bethel Park, Pa. He used an Ar-15 rifle. No motive was determined. One article said Crooks was a Republican with no criminal history  There is no evidence he received help or was part of a broader conspiracy. 

I am shocked and saddened that this happened. I cannot stand Trump. I voted against him in 2016 and 2020. But I do not think political violence has any place in this s country.  We are supposed to be civilized and law abiding. The assination attempt was I am act of a madman

I like this version of the New York Times. It took awhile to get used to it but I’ve learned how to navigate most of its features. I especially like getting frequent updates on the latest news. I’ve been engrossed with it all morning.    

I’m having a good day so far. I slept well with no weird dreams. I was up for good by 6:30. I had scrambled eggs and a coffee cake for breakfast. The aides got me up by 9:30. I missed the coffee social. That’s ok I read the Times until lunchtime

Lunch was delicious. I had country fried steak, mashed potatoes with gravy and green beans. For dessert I had a lemon cream pie. It was almost as good as Chocolatechip’s lemon pie.

I have not forgotten my book Camino Ghosts. I read two chapters last night. I intend to read it tonight Right now I want to check the New York Times.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

0

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

a

 

 

Log in to write a note
kat
July 14, 2024

I agree 110% with all you said.

July 14, 2024

I think one of the things that’s being overlooked is that this guy did it with an AK-47, which is a military rifle. Of course, they’re going to blame it on somebody in the security service, when it’s really the fault of the gun industry which funds the gun lobby who in turn fund the Republicans who think it’s okay for non-military people to own this kind of weapon.

Of course, they’re natural reaction is to blame the Secret Service, instead of the people who enabled this shooter to have a weapon like this in the first place.

PS: Try “Wordle” in the “Games” section. It’s good fun!

July 14, 2024

Wonderful that you are able to read The New York Times now!  That’s fantastic Bear!