Saturday 9/28 /24

4:44a.m. I’m above the dirt. I finially went to bed last night. I slept well with no weird dreams.  I had nice aides this morning. They got me up at 4:00. I was cleaned up, had my briefs changed and dressed. Then they got me in my wheelchair. Incontinence kicked in after they left. That is par.

I feel perky this morning. I could use some coffee though .One thing I miss is fixing my own coffee when I first got up. A lot of times Chocolatechip would come up to my apartment in the morning. We had the best time laughing and carrying like kids. I swear that was one of the best times in my whole stupid life. I’ll never forget those days.

It is 5:00 now. The nursing home will be serving drinks and breakfast in two hours. These two hours will seem eternal. I swear they are the longest part of the day.

10:11a.m. I fell asleep in my wheelchair and slept for a couple hours. I called Chocolatechip when I woke up. We had a nice chat on the phone She went on about who has it easier, me or het. I said in some respects I have it easier. All I have to do is sit on my lazy butt and read books. But I have to sit in urine and feces half the day. I also have to wait two hours for coffee in the morning. I guess it is a trade off.

We talked until they served breakfast. I had sausage, scrambled eggs, a biscuit and oatmeal. It was delicious. The coffee and oj hit the spot but I fell asleep again. I woke up in time for the coffee social. They gave me to cups. I am finially awake and with it after three cups this morning.

Chocolatechip called once I got back in my room. We had a nice chat. She was doing laundry. We talked about favorite Cheech and Chong videos. She also made out a budget for next month. Chocolatechip said she has a enough money to buy a winter coat. I said I’m saving up my $50 allowance until I have $200.67 in my nursing home account. Then I’m going to buy a ton of books. We talked until she had to check on her clothes.

12:22p.m. I went to the Fiesta Room for lunch. I had two sugar cookies, two hot dogs and baked beans. The dogs were good. I also had another coffee. Then I made it back to my room. I hope the beans don’t make me sick . I want to be able to read The White House Years by Henry Kissinger. Life is good.

1:54p.m. I had a nice aide who put me in bed by 1:30. She did a pretty good job. She put cream on my sores. I was happy to be put on bed. The hoyer pad was hurting. I was also drenched in urine and feces . I have been trying to read since lunchtime. I couldn’t concentrate because I was so uncomfortable. Now I can get back to my to The White House YYears by Henry Kissinger.

4:20p.m. I read my book for awhile then fell asleep. I must of slept a long time because I just woke up. I called Chocolatechip. She was busy writing out a budget for October..She also wrote a letter to her sister Elaine. But we didn’t talk very long. The aides came in to change my briefs.

I did mention the news. I said I haven’t been reading the NYT. I said I’ve been looking at the headlines. Conflict in the Midi East has upended the election. Israel launched an an attack on Beirut yesterday. The Hezbollah leader was killed. Of course Hezbollah will strike back. War and suffering never ends over there . Then there is the news Hurricane Helene. It is moving up to North Carolina spreading more destruction. The news has been very depressing.

6:24p.m. I had spaghetti, roasted zucchini, and peaches with blueberries for supper. It was ok but I couldn’t eat it all. I talked with Chocolatechip. We talked for awhile then she went to bed.

I hope to do some serious reading tonight. I didn’t make much progress today. I was very sleepy and tired. I’m trying to read thirty to forty pages a day. But I don’t always reach this goal. Shit happens I guess Still I’ll read a little bit of The White House Years every day. That book is over two thousand pages. It will take me until forever to read it. But I will read it all if it’s the last book I read.

This has been a good day so far. It was a sleepy kind of day. I could not wake up despite all the coffee I had. I hope I can stay up and read tonight. I got that Big Test to study for.

 

 

e e

Log in to write a note
2 weeks ago

I love reading about the meals they make you.  Everything always sounds so good.