Saturday 2/3/24

9:32a.m. I had a pretty good night. I  remember this one dream. I was working for this steel mill. We were on strike. We set up picket lines along rail road tracks. Company goons were coming along the tracks beating up picketers. We tried to escape  by climbing this very high and steep hill on the other side of the tracks. I was the only one who made it to the top

Once on top I found myself in a clearing. On all sides of me were dense woods. I walked along this path. I soon found myself facing another high and steep mountain. I had to climb this mountain but I was too tired and weak. I think I woke up at this point.

I received good care. Aides changed my briefs two or three . The aide who woke me up was excellent. She gave me a nice sponge bath before putting me to bed. I was in my wheelchair by 5:30.  I slept in my chair until breakfast.

They served an apple coffee cake and scrambled eggs.  The eggs were cold but I ate them anyways. I had hot coffee and orange juice. I called Chocolatechip after I ate. She was not in a good mood and fed up with Xfinity.

The deal with the cell phone turned out to be a big mistake. Comcast quoted her $45 for a cell phone with unlimited minutes, text and data. So far she owes them $60. Comcast said she didn’t choose a carrier so they charged her everytime she uses the phone. They didn’t tell her about the carrier part. Chocolatechip is really pissed and is sick of cell phones. I always said  cell phones are more trouble than what they are worth.  

I made it to the Fiesta Room for the Coffee Social. The only problem is the Coffee Social was cancelled. The lady with the activity department was late. This is a bummer because I needed an extra coffee today. I think I’m going back to my room. 

2:34p.m. I’ve been reading my book Midnight in Washington by Adam Schiff. I finished two chapters. It interesting but I’m a bit disappointed. I thought the book would be about the January 6 insuraction. So far it is a brief autobiography Adam Schiff. He wrote about his early career as a prosecutor. Then he was a state Senator from California and a U.S. congressman. This is interesting but I thought this book would be about Trump and his part in the insurrection.

I took a break for lunch which was good. I ate two Philly cheese steak sandwiches, tater tots and a chocolate brownie. I called  Chocolatechip after I ate. She is still upset about that deal with Xfinity. I can’t say as I blame her. But she is trying to chill. She said she watched The Trouble with Angela That helped put her in a better mood. We talked for a little bit then I went back to my book.

I’m not getting much help from the aides today. I requested a peanut butter sandwich but they never brought me one. Then I requested help for plugging in a new cord because I can’t reach the wall outlet. Then I requested Mylanta after lunch. I never got help of any kind. Now I need my briefs changed but will not get help with that. This hasn’t been a good day with the aides 

Other than that I’m having a good day. Breakfast was decent and lunch was delicious For supper they are serving baked ham green beans, sweet potato casserole, a dinner roll and scalloped apples. I love ham and sweet potatoes so this ought to be good. The care sucks sometimes but the food is good.

I want to read one more chapters in my book. Then I want to read my NIV Study Bible. I didn’t read it last night. Supper made me very bloated so I couldn’t concentrate. I was sleeping soon after talking with Chocolateschip. So I got to make up for lost time. I really do want to read the Bible.

4:14p.m. I am in bed now. Aides came around 3:30. They did a good job in undressing me, changing my briefs and putting me in bed. I have been sitting on the hoyer pad for ten hours and it feels good to be off it. It also feels good to be wearing dry depends.

I talked with Chocolatechip. She is very shook up over the Xfinity fiasco. She contacted her daughter Anne. Anne is supposed to help. She will get a box for the phone and packing material. Then she will take everything to the nearest Fed Ex store in Weirton. I said talk to your case manager from Healthways if Anne doesn’t come through. Chocolatechip said she will do that Monday .

Then I said suppose you cannot return the phone. I would get a new debit card and cancel the old one. Then I’d put the phone away some place and forget about it. Chocolatechip said Xfinity will still charge $45 a month for the phone. That was a very bad idea on my part. This whole thing is a big mess. That is one of many reasons why I want nothing to do with cell phones.   

6:22p.m. I wasn’t hungry so I didn’t eat much of a supper. I had a piece of ham some potatoes and a dinner roll. I called Chocolatechip and we talked about the Xfinity fiasco. I said I’m sure it will come out all right. It’s just a matter of getting the phone shipped back. The problem is we never heard of a FedEx store in Weirton. I hope she can get things settled in her favor.

I started to read the Bible before supper. I’m going to try and finish Judges tonight. I have five more chapters to go. Then I’d like to read one more chapters in Midnight in Washington by Adam Schiff. 

 

 

H

Ggjs

 

 

0

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cho

 

D nowiegn bed.

 

 

I

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 3, 2024

One of the things people don’t understand is that they don’t need unlimited data on their phones: if CC has wifi, the phone will rarely needed cellular data. I have a 3 GB/month plan with unlimited texting and voice, and I pay about $25/month. It’s an AT&T prepaid plan, which means you pay at the start of the month instead of at the end of the month.