Saturday 10/5/24

5:05 a.m. I’m above the dirt. I had weird dreams last night. But it hasn’t that bad. Of course the care sucked. I think I was changed once. I had the call light on all night. Nobody answered until the aides got me up. They were nasty and rough. Also I had no pants so I’m wearing a skimpy hospital gown. The hoyer pad is already hurting. The day is starting off really great.

Despite everything I achieved my reading goal. I will start on Chapter XII today . This one is about the widening war in Vietnam. I think it will be about the so called Cambodia invasion. . It ought to be an interesting read.

9:57a.m. Nothing is going right. The damned hoyer pad is killing me But I made it to the Fiesta Room for the coffee social. I fell I asleep but I was revived by hot coffee. I then made it back to my room. I called Chocolatechip and left a message. I want to be put back in bed already. I can’t stand the pain from the damned hoyer pad.

11:10a.m. I’m in bed now. I couldn’t take the pain. The aides had a shitty attitude but they did a good job. I’m off the hoyer pad and have on dry briefs. Hopefully the rest of the day will be better.

I am getting two good meals. They are serving turkey sandwiches, pasta salad and Mandarin oranges for lunch. Then for dinner it is braised pork, pepper and onions, Italian broccoli , pan fried potatoes, a dinner roll, and strawberry striped cake.  At least in have two good mealsj coming my way.

2:30p.m. Lunch was delicious. I ate everything. I then talked with Chocolatechip. One of the tenants is hosting a Halloween party today. She signed up for it but changed her mind. You had to bring a covered dish or donate ten dollars. She  didn’t want to part with her money. I said I don’t blame you. Besides a lot of people in Misery Towers are not too clean. We didn’t think it was a good idea to eat someone else’s food.

We talked about Monday. She wants to go to the bank to get a money order. This is for her cable. Then she will take the bus to Krogers for groceries. I then mentioned my favorite topic the shitty care in the nursing home.. She said fighting for care every day is draining. It is draining I said. I think that is why I sleep so much.

I fell asleep after our talk. I slept for a couple of hours. I had a big incontinence episode when I woke up. I have the call light on. Yet another fight with the lousy CNAs is in the works.

4:00p.m. I called Chocolatechip and asked her to call the facility. It took a half hour but the nurse and a CNA came to help. T friendly and did a great job. Then the nurse flushed  my right ear. A ton of wax came out. No wonder I couldn’t hear very well. Anyways I’m ok now. I said to Chocolatechip they treat you like shit if you don’t have an outside advocate.

6:25p.m. I read my book until supper. I ate it all and now I’m bloated. I said to Chocolatechip t got to cut down on food. It only makes me sick. I also said I think it is time to call APS. This shit with the aides has got to change. I don’t think it will do any good but it is worth a shot. She will call them Monday.

I hope to read tonight.

 

 

Log in to write a note