Monday 12/11/23

8:30a.m. I received great care last night.  The aide came to change my briefs three or four times. Each time she didan excellent job. Then they cleaned me up, dressed me and got me in my wheelchair by four. This was way too early. So I slept in my chair until they served breakfast. They said it was French toast but it didn’t look like it. I’m not sure what I ate but I it was good.

I called Chocolatechip . She is definitely going to cancel today’s visit. We are in for some nasty weather. She was afraid her case manager would cancel on her because of bad roads. I was a bit disappointed but I said I understood. I wouldn’t want her to be stuck out here in the boondocks with no way home. 

I asked about her plans for the day. She said she might do some Christmas baking. She wants to make sugar cookies and chocolate chip cookies. I said that sounds good. She also talked about bed bugs. She hasn’t seen any live ones. Chocolatechip also said she didn’t feel anything crawl on her bite her. I said it sounds like the exterminator did a thorough job this time.We talked very briefly. She wanted to get her housework ready finished.

I am wondering about my Christmas. It will probably be just another day.. Last year the nursing home passed out some nice gifts to its residents. Among other things I got some snacks and a $25 Amazon  gift card. It is getting closer with Christmas being only two weeks away. I do not think I will get anything this year.

I’m not going to let this get me depressed. I have Chococolatechip to talk with on the phone. I have plenty of books to read. I want to get through the Dark Tower saga and those John Grisham books this month. By the way,the Grisham novels were a gift from Chocolatechip So I had an early Christmas present.

9:54a.m. I made it to the Coffee Social. I’m just chilling with a nice cup of hot coffee. They are doing exe.rcises now. I pass on that because it hurts to move my arms and legs. I have a hard enough time getting myself to the Fiesta Room. It hurts just pushing the wheels on my chair. Then I get very short of breath. I just sit back,drink my coffee and watch the girls do their exercises.

12:58p.m. I stayed in the Fiesta Room most of the morning. I had a good time and did a lot of reading in Song of  Susanna. I had one bad moment where I thought I heard my name mentioned. But I didn’t leave or let that bother me. I continued to sit in my wheelchair and read. I enjoyed my book, the good coffee and didn’t care if people were talking about me.  

I stayed in the Fiesta Room until  after lunch. They served two sloppy joes, corn and jello for dessert. I ate it all. I got bloated but I’m ok now. I made my way back to my room. I called Chocolatechip. We talked about the latest med she is taking. I talked about being diagnosed with schizophrenia. I said most people get that in their 20s Then mine could of been latent brought on by a lot of other factors. It is hard to say we are not doctors.

Chocolatechip never did get around to baking. She did a very large load of laundry this morning. Plus she swept and dusted her apartment.  Chocolatechip life down for awhile then fixed something to eat. She always was able to find some productive activity with her time. We had a good talk and talked for a long time. 

One thing she asked me was when I was going to start getting money. I said I don’t know probably around June or July. Then she asked how much I will get. I said Billing told me $50 a month. I also said the nursing home can pay me in the form of Amazon gift cards. Good she said , then I can start buying books again. That’s what they told me I said. Billing had life to me before.

Then I was asked if I ever get tired of reading horror novels. I said I love Stephen King. But I also love other authors. I  mentioned John Grisham, John le Carre, Baldacci and Mary Higgins Clark to name few. I also like to read about history, politics and the Constitution. I’m interested in a lot of different subjects. For some reason I have been on a Stephen King and his Dark Tower novels for the last few months. Not the least is my renewed interest in reading the Bible

I regret to say that I missed a few days of Bible reading. I haven’t been reading much at all. Arthritis pain has been very severe and I just couldn’t concentrate on any book. I haven’t forgotten my promise to read the Bible daily.   I really want to study it and learn as much as possible about the Scriptures both Old and New Testament.

4:54p.m. I’m in bed now. The aides put me to bed around three. I spent eleven hours on that hoyer pad. I was also soaked because I haven’t been changed since they got me up. Chatted with Chocolatechip after they put me to bed. I chatted with Chocolatechip on the phone. She seemed very depressed. I felt bad for her and tried to cheer her up. I hope I am of help when she gets down. Chocolatechip always makes me feel better.

We talked briefly on the phone about the Bitch Clique and Misery Towers. She was saying the smell of pot is so strong on first floor you can get stoned standing in the hallway. That place sure had gone down the tubes. When I moved in way back in 1997 I was told your out if you get caught wheeling and dealing. I said that’s why we never fit in that place. We do not do drugs.

She talked very briefly. Chocolateschip had to get up early tomorrow. She went to bed at five. Before I said goodbye I told Chocolatechip she is a wonderful woman. All those women in the Bitch Clique are not worth the sweat off your skin.

7:09p.m. I had fish, potatoes, broccoli,a dinner roll and homemade dutch apple pie for supper. Supper was delicious and I ate it all. I started to read the Bible after dinner. I read for an hour and finished Genesis. I continued on reading Exodus finishing the first two chapters. They say pride goes before a fall. But I’m proud of myself for living up to my promise to read the Bible daily. 

Today was a good d oiay for me. Arthritis pain was minor. I talked with Chocolatechip a lot. I had three good meals. I did a lot of reading in my Bible and Song of Susanna by Stephen King. I guess I’m truly blessed.

11:12p.m. I just woke up screaming from a nightmare. I was yelling “help!” “help!” I was screaming at the top of my voice. I knocked the table over. The aide came in and yelled at me. I was scared shitless I broke my tablets. This one seems to be working Thank God.

Table 2 is working and so is my Kindle I’m one lucky old man. These tablets can’t be replaced

r

 

Olle it all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

,

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 11, 2023

If I lived close enough I would bring you a Christmas present :-). That was nice that the nursing home gave gifts last year.  Maybe they will do that again.

December 11, 2023

@happyathome  Thank you my friend

December 11, 2023

I’m glad you had a good day. Is there a Bible study group so that you could discuss your thoughts on the stories you’ve read? It would be a good thing to engage in some discussion about such an influential book.

December 11, 2023

@ravdiablo  They have such a group. But it’s late at night. after they put me in bef