Friday 8/23/24

11:46a.m. I coughed almost all night long. They drew blood and checked me for COVID. I talked with my nurse. I wanted to know why I had this cough for over a month and nothing has been done about it. She said that was what the tests were for. If I don’t have COVID they will x ray my chest. I wasn’t satisfied with the answer but what can I do? I asked for cough syrup but didn’t get any. 

I was and down all night. I was up for good by 7:30 when they served breakfast. I had biscuits and gravy. I laid in urine after I ate until 9:00. They changed my briefs and cleaned me up. The aide did a good job. Then I was dressed and in  my wheelchair by 10:00.    

I did a lot of reading this morning. I finished reading A Calamity of Souls I enjoyed this book by David Baldacci very much. I don’t want to reveal the ending but it is worth the read. I gave it a five star rating. Next up I think I’ll start over that audiobook Vietnam: A History by Stanley Karnow.   

But first there is lunch. They are serving corn chowder, fish fillet sandwiches, potatoes wedges and something called campfire Blondie. 

3:49p.m. I don’t know why I’ve been so tired. I slept almost all afternoon. I was asleep when the aide came to put me in bed. Anyway she did a good job..She put cream on my butt and cleaned me up good.

While I was awake I read a couple articles from The New York Times. Thursday was the last night of the DNC. Kamala Harris have her acceptance  speech. It was a call for unity. Weather or not she can win over undecided voters by November remains to be seen. I hope to God she can get in.    

But I couldn’t concentrate on reading. I was too damned tired. I had this damned cough for over month. It is dragging me down the tubes. All I wanted to do today was sleep and eat. What gets me is the nursing home isn’t doing a friggin thing. I think I’m going to die from this cough.      

6:20p.m.  I read the New York Times until they served supper.  I had meatloaf, Lyonnaise potatoes, roasted carrots and a fruit cup. I ate everything. I haven’t been coughing as much but I’m still sick. Also I don’t feel as tired. Maybe I might have a good night for a change. I know I’m up to listening to that audiobook Vietnam: A History by Stanley Karnow.           

8:10p.m. I just finished listening to the first chapter in Vietnam: A History by Stanley Karnow. I think think this is will be an excellent account of that tragic war. The Vietnamese people have been resisting foreign domination for thousands of years. First the Chinese, French, Japanese during WW11 and finially U.S. involvement. Karnow focuses on American involvement but also discussed French attempts colonize South East Asia. This is going to be another great book.    

But I’m kind of mad. I rang my call light. All I wanted was a some ice water. The aide was very nasty. She said I will have to wait because I’m making my rounds. My mouth is a sandbox I can’t get any damned drinking water

 

 

Log in to write a note