Friday 7/26/24

12:43p.m. My cold took a turn for the worse this morning. I couldn’t stop coughing. I was very congested and short of breath. This didn’t stop me from eating breakfast. I had French toast. Then they got me in my wheelchair. I soon fell asleep and slept almost all morning. I’m feeling a little bit better but can hardly talk. 

I just had a slice of cheese pizza and a cup of fruit for lunch. That perked me up a bit. I haven’t talked with Chocolatechip too much. We talked before breakfast. She was ok. I thought she said she might go to Krogers this morning.    

8:10p.m. Damn I think I might need a new Bluetooth speaker. I don’t think the one I have is charging. It works only while plugged in the wall socket. I’ll charge it overnight and see what happens. The nurse just told me you have to keep it plugged in until it is fully charged. Hopefully it will be working properly by morning. 

 I was looking at Anker speakers on Amazon. Total cost of the cheapest one I could find is $36.96. I should be be able to buy that with Amazon gift cards next month. It all depends if the nursing is planning a Walmart trip next month. 

Other than being sick I had a halfway decent afternoon. I read several interesting articles from the New York Times. In one article I read where Kamala Harris might pick Mark Kelly for her running mate. I think the article said he is a Senator from Arizona. The article said Kelly knows his stuff about the border problem. This is his appeal. Then I read where Barrack Obama endorsed Kamala I also read an article about JD Vance and his upbringing in Appalachia. The authors of the article interviewed people from Middletown Ohio. He is regarded as a local hero. But Vance was vague about solutions to the scourge of drugs and poverty in the region. His own mother was an addict. 

I did manage to listen to my audiobook on Vietnam before the speaker died. I hope I can finish that book. I am on Chapter 18. I have three more to go. I enjoyed that book. 

I had a good supper. They served BBQ chicken, scalloped potatoes, spinach and chocolate cake. I ate everything but the spinach. I hated me spinach. Then I called Chocolatechip. She had a so so day. She went to Bible study. She said they talked about different problems and the challenges the faced in their lives. It was interesting. Then she filled me in on the latest. One tenant stole something from the lobby. She was caught on camera. We talked until she went to bed.     

The aide put me to bed around 8:00. I didn’t mind being in my wheelchair all day. The hoyer pad wasn’t hurting. I got lost in my book and the paper . Besides I got to eat lunch and supper sitting in my chair. Only thing the aide wasn’t very friendly and she didn’t put cream on my sores. 

9:41p.m. I don’t know what to do with myself. I want to listen to my audiobook but the speaker is still charging. At least I hope it will charge. It is playing on my mind. I’m afraid I will end up being up all night worrying about my speaker. Damn. Why did it die on me near the end of a good book? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I

I

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note