Leaves

i need to start where it ended. there will eventually be more that’s unrelated to him, but right now this is big. he’s still big in my heart and mind.

today was too much. i skipped class. i could not. this is what i managed:

 

losing leaves                                                                      

the season is changing, what a delight!

i’m changing, look at me.

you’ve never seen anything with such grand color

i’m warm and cool, i’m beautiful and strong

i have so many leaves, it won’t matter if i lose some of them.

my leaves told me they would stay.

i have so much of my leaves i can lose part of them.

* * *

my color is gone

my leaves left, lied.

and is change still grand?

am i still beautiful?

am i still strong?

“yes,” says The River.

“yes because you are planted in me.

leaves will lose, lie. they may not stay,

but your worth comes from The River.”

__________________________________

you were my favorite leaves, but i don’t want leaves. i want another tree- planted beside me in The River.

my leaves won’t return, but i’ll still be a tree planted in The River forever.

Log in to write a note