funny, all I did was look at the calendar

 I can’t sleep….so I’ve been wandering around my apartment in the dark. "I love it here", just a thought. I put some water on to boil,think I’ll have a cup of tea. Tea helps to calm me down at night , just another thought.

 I thought about writing an entry,nothing really came to mind…..until I looked up at the calendar on the wall.                                                                
                                                                      Wednesday,November 11 
                                                                               Veterans Day

I just sat at my desk for a minute and looked at the day highlighted on the wall. A day marked to remember those who have served and do serve our country , bless each one.

so what me just think about my ex-husband?? He wasn’t in the service, but there was this one thing he use to do….

  he would stand just as close as he could , point his finger right in my face and say, "go ahead and piss me off, it’s gonna’ be World War Three around this place!"

there you have it …. my marriage was a war.

9 years
there were good guys
and bad guys

battles fought
and battle scars

the only casualty was my self-esteem
he killed who I once was

there were heroes
2
myself for walking away before it was to late
and my best friend who held my hand the whole way.
                

 
funny, all I did was look at the calendar.

perhaps we all fight a war in some way….

and even when we’re not looking, we find ourselves a hero.

 Remember our Veterans everyday

                             

Log in to write a note