desire leaves no room for rationality

Just because you want a fictional man to be President, doesn’t mean that he would do everythign better. When it’s more than one person on my flist, yes, I am going to be a bit upset.

Guys, JED BARTLET HAS NEVER BEEN THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

OK? Can we wrap our pretty little heads around that one, PLEASE?

I’m sick of hearing how much ‘better’ his speeches were or that all of Bush’s comments were ‘idiotic’ or ‘stupid’ or how this event somehow means that you ‘just can’t wait ’til January ’09’. Know what? JED BARTLET ISN’T REAL! HE NEVER GAVE THOSE SPEECHES!

Those writers of the West Wing? NOT ACTUALLY WRITING FOR THE LEADER OF THE FREE WORLD! So, could we remember that as well? Please?

While Bush isn’t the world’s best orator, the speeches aren’t bad. I don’t think very many on the flist who are in love with the Fictionalised President realise how hard it is to write for the Leader of the Free World. The speeches weren’t bad and I believe they were heartfelt. He spoke the truth, and he spoke from the heart.

“Schools should be places of safety and sanctuary and learning. When that sanctuary is violated, the impact is felt in every American classroom and every American community.

Today, our nation grieves with those who have lost loved ones at Virginia Tech. We hold the victims in our hearts, we lift them up in our prayers, and we ask a loving God to comfort those who are suffering today.” -16 April 2007

“And on this terrible day of mourning, it’s hard to imagine that a time will come when life at Virginia Tech will return to normal. But such a day will come. And when it does, you will always remember the friends and teachers who were lost yesterday, and the time you shared with them, and the lives they hoped to lead. May God bless you. May God bless and keep the souls of the lost. And may His love touch all those who suffer and grieve.” -17 April 2007

When the sun rose this morning and I sang my pretty song, shortly after Legolas popped into my head, ‘A red sun rises. Blood has been spilt on this night.’ It was a spectacular purplered sunrise with deep blue clouds and a pale sky. Simply amazing. On the morning after 32 innocent people lost their lives. If you’ve seen the movie, the look on Legolas’ face as he says it — it’s so moving, and no, it’s not oratory, but I don’t look to the writings of a fictional president.

I look to the sky and think of how the simplicities of life (and death) can be summed up by us just looking and saying nothing; letting the one thousand words and the one thousand after that spill up in the light beams and chilly air, consume us, mold us, and comfort us.

Log in to write a note
April 20, 2007

I love this. I always think it’s funny when people take a character (such as Jed Bartlett) and hold them in such high esteem that they actually start talking about how they should have been President. Never mind that every issue he encountered was fictitious! However, if he would run, I would totally vote Jack Bauer for President. lol And it’s nice to see someone say something kind about our real President for a change.

April 20, 2007

I love this. I always think it’s funny when people take a character (such as Jed Bartlett) and hold them in such high esteem that they actually start talking about how they should have been President. Never mind that every issue he encountered was fictitious! However, if he would run, I would totally vote Jack Bauer for President. lol And it’s nice to see someone say something kind about our real President for a change.

April 21, 2007

I didn’t dislike his speeches relating to the shooting. And as for Jed Bartlet not being president, my head is thoroughly wrapped around it.

April 21, 2007

I didn’t dislike his speeches relating to the shooting. And as for Jed Bartlet not being president, my head is thoroughly wrapped around it.