blackbird

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these sunken eyes and learn to see
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to be free

Blackbird fly, blackbird fly
Into the light of the dark black night
Blackbird fly, blackbird fly
Into the light of the dark black night
You were only waiting for this moment to arise
You were only waiting for this moment to arise

lyrics by the Beatles, performed by Sarah McLachlan

Log in to write a note

Before I got to the end, I was already prompted to leave you a note asking if you’d heard Sarah’s version. She was born in Halifax, NS, like me, and then later moved to Vancouver, BC, like me. Funny Sarah story: my sister used to be in the same lab where her father (I think he’s now retired, not sure) worked. I’ve never met him but sis says he’s the picture of the absent minded prof. Brilliant but not quite living in the realm of reality. Sis learned of a legendary story about him from her labmates. Sarah had been on tour somewhere, I think actually here in SF for the big quake of 1989. After the big earthquake, she called a day or two later to let her father know she was ok (phone lines were out, I guess). He said “Oh Sarah, hi, why are you calling?”

March 8, 2007

I love this song, but haven’t heard Sarah McLachlan singing it. Whenever the Beatles sing it, though, it makes me cry.

quite simply, my favorite Beatles song.

March 14, 2007

that’s one of those songs, whenever i hear of it or read the title, its the sarah version i hear in my head.