5000+ Question Survey started again!

I’m beggining this again because a) I didn’t finish the first time and b) I need something to make sure I write often even on the days when all I do is refill the printers at work and poke the cat with a stray boa feather.

1. Who are you?  A girl whose in love with her aliases and is stradling the stage between calling herself a girl and calling herself a woman.

2. What are the 3 most important things everyone should know about you?

-I’m hard to offend

-I likely don’t care if you’re offended

-my house has lots of furbearers so pop a claritn if that is a problem.

3. Who did you take this survey from (the entire survey is available here: http://www.myspace.com/5000_question_survey)?

When you aren’t filling out 5000 question surveys, what are you doing?

I took it from the OD by the same name.

4. List your classes in school from the ones you like the most to the ones you like the least (or if you are out of school, think of the classes you did like and didn’t like at the time).

Of All Time:

Tech

Communications (fancy name for tech)

History of Rock and Roll

Creative Writing

Art

Fashion Drawing

Ancient Civilizations

Classifications-I love learning about the Dewey Decimal System.  I’m a nerd.  But I’m a hot nerd librarian.  I like it and so do you.

Children’s Fantasy Lit

History

Home Ec

Films-drinking made talking about the films more lively.  It really helped my class participation mark.

Introductory to Library Science

Photography

Textile Science-sometimes we went to class drunk.  See also Films class.

Music-I would have liked it more if Id been there the day we got our instruments assigned and I wasn’t stuck with a damn clarinet.

History of Costume (taught by a prof who used to go drinking with us the night before class and scowl at us jokingly when we came in late and hungover when she had had to be punctual)

Modelling….Actually it wasn’t on how to model so much as how to corral the models you would need to use in the fashion business.  It was also taught by women who were still heavy on the blue eyeshadow  decades after Disco died.  Ladies.  Please!)

Draping

Information

School Libraries

Art History (at the time I hated it—why?  It was a combo of two of my favourite things, yes but the history teacher liked fucking high school girls which was the only reason I did well and the only reason I liked the class at the time–not that we were fucking but I did flirt to get better grades.  Art History was taught by a woman).

Math

Pattern Making

Science

Sewing

French

Journalism

Gym

Grading

Business English

Cataloguing

Fit-affectionately called naked class, and taken before I was a Burlesquer and comfortable being naked around others.  Also my fit partner wasn’t as averagely shaped as myself.  Which when you’re trying to make something fit and you don’t know how IS a fucking problem no matter what I actually believe about a woman’s body.  My anger arose as I was a perfect 12 at the time and therefore she had to do no alterations on her items. 

Health-I might only have moderately hated health if my parents werent religious zealots who humiliated me by pulling me out of grade 8 health (secretly I had attended grade 4 and grade 7 health. So its unclear to me what else there was to learn that I missed.  I’ve been taking private lessons to try and find out LOL)

5. What is your biggest goal for this year?   Stop being so damn busy

6. Where do you want to be in 5 years?  Married and living in Scotland and taking my clothes off at High Tease

7. What stage of life are you in right now?  The constantly busy not valuing my time with friends and family enough stage.

8. Are you more child-like or childish? I’d say I am an even split.  I used to be more child-like but Thai has spent a couple years spoilling me now so I’m getting pretty fucking childish.

9. What is the last thing you said out loud? "Oh are you poking the cat?  Don’t poke the cat under me, take it over there! GET!"  The dog and cat like to play and they were playing under my comp desk.

10. What song comes closest to how you feel about you r life right now?  I don’t want to type it out because its by Thai’s band and there album just came out and they’re in that cute stage where they google themselves.  But its beautiful and sad and its about all your friends moving on from what you thought you all were and finding yourself still stuck in that spot only now you’re alone.

11. Have you ever taken martial arts classes? Nope.

12. Does your life tend to get better or worse or does it just stay the same?   Better.  4 years ago found my perfect beer (Guiness on tap) 3 years ago found perfect job, 2 years ago found perfect man, last year found perfect dog, this year found perfect hairdresser, next year….?  Whats left?  Bra.  I need the perfect bra.

13. Does time really heal all wounds? nope.  Unless you count the whole dying thing.    It doesnt mean that life in general wont be awesome.  But some wounds are fairly permanent.

14. How do you handle a rainy day? At work I would put garbage pails under the leaks and talk to old people about how its raining and when it might stop.  At home Id just be glad because squirrles dont go out in the rain and dogs dont bark at squirrels that aren’t there.

15. Which is worse…losing your luggage or having to sort out tangled holiday lights?  Losing luggage.  Fuck holiday lights.  If they’re tangled I dont have to put them up.

16. How is your relationship with your parents? My mother is my hero, my father molested me and I havent talked to him since I tried to get him to give me money….which didnt work because he doesnt feel very guilty about abusing me I guess.  I was pretty sure he would.  I know I feel pretty bad about it.

Will you miss them when they are gone? My mother isnt allowed to die before me and my father better die before both of us.  I have this weird obsession.  I dont want to die and have him still alive and have no one know that he molested me.  So I told people.  And I told them if I die they should tell people too.  About wounds healing….sometimes you just have to go fuck it Im wounded.  Here’s my proverbial stumpy arm.

17. Do you tend to be aware of what is going on around you? nope.  Apparently its snowed this year.  I missed that.

18. What is the truest thing that you know? That whatever I say will be the wrong answer by the next time I think about this question….unless I answer it like this 😀

19. What did you want to be when you grew up?  A ballerina or a Taxedermist.  I was never put in dance lessons because the outfits were too sexualized and my parents discouraged the latter of the two.  Now Im a burlesque dancer who tries desperately to avoid her taxedermist exgirlfriend.

YOU CANNOT make yo

ur kids what you want them to be just by discouraging them 😉

20. Have you ever been given a second chance? Ive been given more chances than there are stars in the sky by Thai and my mother.  2 people I love more than anything. 

21. Are you more of a giver or a taker?  GIVER though I can be quite a taker too. 

22. Do you make your decisions with an open heart/mind? I like to think so.  But we all want to say yes to that.

23. What is the most physically painful thing that has ever happened to you? throwing up after appendix surgery I believe.

24. What is the most emotionally painful thing that has ever happened to you? Being molested as a child.  Its something that will probably always affect me.  I even hesitated to type it even though I’ve already reffered to it here. 

25. Who have you hugged today? Thai.  Hes the only one who will hug me when I’ve got the flu.  Oh and the dog.  The dog likes hugs.

26. Who has done something today to show they care about you? Thai, Sass, The dog.  Considering I havent left the house that is a good rate of caring 😀

27. Do you have a lot to learn?

fuck.  Yes.

28. If you could learn how to do three things just by wishing and not by working what would they be?

A play the trumpet

B speak Spanish

C bake meringues.  I may not smoke pot all the time anymore but my ambition level doesnt seem to have returned LOL.

29. Which do you remember the longest: what other people say, what other people do or how other people make you feel?

How they make me feel.  I think scientifically that has to be true about most people.  What people say is forgotten pretty fast and easily misquoted.  What they do is similar, and thats providing that you even know or understand exactly what it is that the person did.  A feeling is more abstract and personal and it therefore is easier to remember and in fact hard to forget.

30. What are the key ingredients to having a good relationship?

trust (says the girl who sent her man to a sexy fellow burlesque dancer’s house for an interview tonight because she hates being interviewed and he needs an interview).

self-respect

like-mindedness on key issues (whatever they might be to you personally)

Note I didnt say honesty.  I would never tell Thai this (ha!  theres proof right there of my point) but if hes on tour and gets drunk and kisses some girl and thats all it was was a kiss that didnt give him any STDS or phone numbers or other things that linger on a man, and he wakes up the next day and wishes it never happend I DO NOT want the fool to tell me about it.  That would just upset me to know.  I could EASILY go the rest of my life not knowing it happend.  And if he is trustworthy it a)probably ownt happen, and b)might happen because shit happens but certainly it wont happen again or Im going to start doubting he really regretted it.

or maybe I just say that to justify my getting drunk and kissing someone last summer.  A small wee kiss I regretted IMMEDIATELY….during even.  No I’m not.  I really dont want to know that shit unless its an ongoing problem or its going to give me syphillis.

31. What 3 things do you want to do before you die?

A Go abroad with my mom 

B go up in a hot air balloon

C get married (for the sake of having a big fun party)

32. What three things would you want to die to avoid doing?

A going to war

B living through nuclear haulocaust

C getting shut away in a mental hospital

33. Is there a cause you believe in more than any other cause? my pet cause right now is the right for a woman in her twenties to get her tubes tied.  But do I believe in it more than anything?  No.  Im sure that if I could resolve one cause I wouldnt waste my wish on that. 

34. What does each decade make you think of:

The 19..

20’s: Flappers

30’s: The Depression

40’s: Victory Rolls

50’s: Housewives

60’s: Woodstock

70’s: Bad Makeup

80’s: Bad wedding dresses

90’s: Fashion boredom

2000 (so far): raves.

2010’s: where are all the flying cars?

35. Which decade do you feel the most special connection to and why? Ive always been big on the twenties for the fashion.  The rapidness of the changes are remarkable.  If only we evolved our social/moral ideas as fast as we evolved out skirt length ideas.

36. What is your favorite oldie/classic rock song? omigod how do I even pick that? Get it While You Can by Janis Joplin

37. What country do you live in and who is the leader of that country? Canada-Stephen Harper

If you could say any sentence to the current leader of your country what would it be? Why don’t you do something to get us to notice you?

Hes basically like that guy who comes up to you 10 years after you gradute and claims he was in your history class.  You were?  No you werent.  Id remember you!  Only take that and make it "no really I was your Prime Minister".

38. What’s your favorite TV channel to watch in the middle of the night? I dont have TV anymore but it used to teletoon for YEARS.  HAHAHA when I was 17 Id stay up til 4am with Linus and watch Teletoon til we were sure his dad was home from work and asleep and we’d start making out around the time The Incredible Hulk aired and maybe by the time SpiderMan rolled around Id let him touch my boobs.

39. What Disney villain are you the most like and why? Ursulla the Sea Witch.  I can’t sing pretty either.  I’d totally bottle a voice if I could.

40. Have you ever been a girl scout/boy scout? yes and a girl scout leader

41. If you were traveling to another continent would you rather fly or take a boat?  Boat me.  Flying hurts my ears.

42. Why is the sky blue during the day and black at night?  It isn’t.

43. What does your name mean? Of the Ash Tree. Or did you mean my OD name.  Thats a line from a Rainer Maria song from when Rainer Maria was a good band 😀

44. Would you rather explore the deeps of the ocean or outer space? Ocean!  Though water terrifies me. 

45. Word association

What is the first word that comes to mind when you see the word:

Air: breathe

Meat: food

Different: strokes (LOL)

Pink: feather (what?)

Deserve: need

White: black

Elvis: Presley

Magic: Johnson

Heart: Attack (nice)

Clash: bang!

Pulp: Fiction

46. If you could meet any person in the world who is dead who would you want it to be? DEAD?  HRMMMM…My penpal from Iraq who is presumed dead.  Id like to meet her.  Id like her to be alive.

47. What if you could meet anyone who is alive? I want to meet Hugh Grant and ask him if hes done anything since Lair of the White Worm.  Sorry.  Its a grand film.  Im a nerd.

48. Is there a movie that you love so much you could watch it everyday? Priscilla Queen of The Desert 

49. You are go

ing to be stuck alone in an elevator for a week. What do you bring to do? You didnt say i could only bring one thing:

I’ll want a vibrator

some knitting

a book

my IPOD

fuck everything else.

 

Log in to write a note