Thought Experiment (Pain & God)

The problem of pain…. here’s one solution that I think would work pretty well. While I think eliminating all physical pain would be the best way to go, there are a few other options that I think could improve on the way “God” supposedly does things.

Any physical (although other types of pain would be an interesting discussion as well) pain that a person causes another human would be felt with the same intensity and in the same way by the causer of that pain. And, any injury caused by one to the other is mirrored in the causer.

More explicitly, A cuts B on the hand. B feels the pain, A feels the same pain. B has a cut resulting from the wound, as does A.

I think it’s an interesting thought experiment, and it would significantly cut down on the amount of human suffering inflicted by other humans.

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2004

Not to say that if someone hurts another physically it doens’t hurt them emotionally knowing what they’ve done. . . does this make sense. I’m speaking theis because one of my friends raped me and then they as my friend were emotionally hurt by the physical pain that they cause to me. I guess maybe it’s not always like this but this time it was.

May 30, 2004

i have been pondering on this track for a while. if you are interested my last several entrys are on this very topic

May 30, 2004

And, any injury caused by one to the other is mirrored in the causer. this infact is the case, Empathy. it is how Gandi liberated India with non-violence. he used there violence against them by envoking the Empathy of the British. much love, kit