Senior Year of College.

Ok, I’m trying to decide what to major in/do my senior year at college. Does anyone have any opinion about any of these options? The problem with settling for a double Phys/Math major and a minor in Phil, is that I don’t think I could find 4 elective classes that would be as interesting as the Philosophy classes I would replace them with.

 

 

Option 1

Physics – Math Double Major

            Philosophy minor

Fall                                                       Spring

Physics Thesis                                      Physics Thesis

Math                                                    Math

American Component                           Philosophy

Elective                                                Elective

Elective                                                Elective

 

12 hrs. Class (plus thesis)                      12 hrs. Class (plus thesis)

 

Option 2

Physics – Philosophy Double Major

            Math minor

Fall                                                       Spring

Physics Thesis                                      Physics Thesis

American Component                           Philosophy

Philosophy                                            Philosophy

Philosophy                                            Elective

Philosophy                                            Elective

 

12 hrs. Class (plus thesis)                      12 hrs. Class (plus thesis)

 

Option 3

Physics – Philosophy – Math Triple Major

Fall                                               

        Spring

Physics Thesis                                      Physics Thesis

American Component                           Philosophy

Philosophy                                            Philosophy

Philosophy                                            Math

Philosophy                                            Math

 

12 hrs. Class (plus thesis)                      12 hrs. Class (plus thesis)

 

Option 4

Physics & (Math or Philosophy Major with the other minor) or Math and Philosophy major – decided at Winter break.

Fall                                                       Spring

Physics Thesis                                      Physics Thesis

American Component                           2nd Major

Philosophy                                            2nd Major

Philosophy                                            Elective or 3rd Major

Philosophy                                            Elective or 3rd Major

 

12 hrs. Class (plus thesis)                      12 hrs. Class (plus thesis)

Log in to write a note
May 4, 2004

Perhaps the Physics/Philosophy double major with the Math minor is the best option. For some reason the extra philosophy classes would seem easier than the extra math classes, but that’s just me. Can you really obtain a triple major in just 4 years? Wow.

May 4, 2004

Oh and hey – do you have any idea what you want to do after graduation?

Senior??? I have always thought, presumed you were older than that.

May 4, 2004

Yeah, I can do a triple in 4 years. I’ve also already done every physics class offered at the undergrad level except for “biophysics” which I’m not interested in at all. I’m looking to either go to physics grad school, or Law school. Not sure which just yet.

May 4, 2004

The easiest choice that keeps all of your options open is Physics/Philosophy major with Math minor because that lets you go to either grad. school or law school without much difficulty. I wouldn’t go the Physics/Math major route unless I knew I’d like to go to grad. school for physics. But hey, if you can do the triple major thing, do it.

May 4, 2004

“Yeah, I can do a triple in 4 years.” Now here’s the next logical question – would you want to?? 🙂

May 5, 2004

You’ve amazed me.

I loathe Physics. Calculus and Organic Chemistry I like. I say go for the Triple major if you can do it. I’m sticking with my ONE biology major.

May 8, 2004

Blargh. I just finished my senior year in college and I came from the school of Make The Last Year Fun and Not Work…looks like you’re coming from Make The Last Year the Most Regrettable and Difficult of My Life.

i say, if you could, go for the triple major. if its just a matter of which classes to take, and not staying for longer…minors dont really count for that much once you’re out. -LQ