Place for prayer

 

Do not feel compelled to click on my ad above. – BUM

 

From a conversation over on Bloop with Vista:

“It is not the governments place to force religion on us. Like I said there is a difference between freedom from religion and freedom of religion. In this case I would feel there no harm in a person saying a prayer in the school. This does not mean you have an individual have to take part in that prayer. It is your right to practice your freedom of religion just as it is the guys right to say the prayer to practice his freedom of religion. Our problem in society is that Christians are being shunned for their religion. We are not able to practice our religion because it might offend another person.

For example it might offend you if I were a foot ball coach and said a prayer in the locker.”

It wouldn’t offend me, but it’s not the place for a government employee to espouse his religious beliefs on a captive audience. Would you be concerned if the football coach of your children at the public high school before each game recited, “God isn’t real, he’s an imaginary friend. Jesus died, did not resurrect because he was only human. God is just superstition. Let’s play football.”?

“This is and I should be able to practice my religion anywhere.”

You are. You can pray before a football game if you want. You can pray in school. You can pray right now. I can think to myself, “God isn’t real” all I want. You have a problem with not being allowed to lead class prayers? Tough, it’s not the place for that.

“At this you might say well not the government is not allowed to have a religion. The government has no right to force someone into a religion. That is freedom of religion. If we are going to worry about not letting people partake in prayer because it offends them then lets look at the flip side. This country is full of Christians what about offending them? It doesn’t matter what you do you offend someone.”

You’ll notice that I haven’t mentioned “being offended” as the reason for anything, right? You’re arguing against a straw-man.

Copied from the first paragraph, “Our problem in society is that Christians are being shunned for their religion.”

If society shuns a group for their religion, that’s tough for the religion, as you said, society/people are allowed to have freedom of expression, etc.  For example, I think that Christian’s beliefs are absurd, dangerous, and that we should work to convince Christians of their error through dialogue.

“If you do not believe in Christianity or you do not wish to respect it them maybe you should not take part in the holidays of it such as Christmas and Easter. [

Vista ]”

From wikipedia, “Many cultures celebrate or celebrated a holiday near (within a few days) the winter solstice; examples of these include Yalda, Saturnalia, Christmas, Karachun, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and Zamenhof Day…  The first civilization to celebrate the winter solstice were the Ancient Persians, deriving from their Zoroastrian religion.”

If you do not believe in Zoroastrianism, then maybe YOU shouldn’t celebrate Christmas. Wait, I don’t like that argument. Why not celebrate when you get a chance? How about I celebrate a time set aside for peace, family, hope; and you can call it whatever you want, and I’ll call it whatever I want.

 

Log in to write a note
December 21, 2005

anything for a party. would anyone be offended if I partake of the spirits? and I do like to participate in a few burnt offerings. it’s the winter Solstice. I need warmth, I need lights, I want candy. I don’t care who brings it.

December 21, 2005

I completely gree with the sentiments in your last paragraph.

December 21, 2005

I like the flip side to Christian’s arguments. How would they feel if a non Christian group prayer was said in class? of course they would hate it. BTW, what would you think is a truly selfless act?

December 22, 2005

Nicely argued. 🙂

December 22, 2005

What’s most interesting to me about this entire “Christmas” thing now, is that certainly the early Christian church didn’t celebrate it, and up until the mid 1900’s, a large number of Christian’s didn’t either. I work as a church historian, and I can pull out book after book condemning the celebration of Christmas as a “pagan” ritual. Makes all this “War on Christmas” stuff sound silly.

December 23, 2005

Stealth – I for one appreciate that you can see this issue for what it really is…

research of the christian FAITH is the church borrowed parts of indigenous religons to make christ more palitable – many saints are carbonish copys of others gods – before christ came what were people supposed to do have no faith ?? one pharo decided to stop the pologumus religons and convert egypt to the god he wanted the sun god — not son but sun – the catholics refused divorce to

henery the VIII a divorce so the PROTESTant religons were founded- to believe in no power greater and wanting only good for humanity is to me an inigma -like children believe in their parents does it not make sense to have faith outside of our real understanding ? – i have seen much of both good and evil – of love and hate – i personally choose love because all the hate i experenced as a

caused alot of pain — but no one has the right to tall anyone how and what to believe not even god ie FREE WILL we do as we choose

January 9, 2006

“For example, I think that ChristianÂ’s beliefs are absurd, dangerous, and that we should work to convince Christians of their error through dialogue.” -Wow. You’re that worried about Christian’s and their beliefs? Aren’t there more absurd and dangerous things in the world you could be “dialoguing” about? Just my opinion.