~Ivy~’s questions

 ~Ivy~ wrote a note that asked the following questions which I numbered for ease of reference.

1. Is atheism more beneficial than Judaism/Christianity/Buddhism/Islam, and if so, how?
2. How does atheism improve the richness of life moreso than Christianity/Judaism/Buddhism/Islam?
3. What has atheism done for you?
4. Do you promote atheism over religion?
5. Do you promote atheism over agnosticism?
6. By the end of life, is it more important to have been an atheist?

If you have questions regarding a particular explanation, it makes it easier if you reference the question number.

1. Is atheism more beneficial than Judaism/Christianity/Buddhism/Islam, and if so, how?

I will answer this in several parts. First of all, I find that atheism just describes a person who does not have a “god-belief”. I usually extend that in my mind to mean “anything supernatural” as well – but techically I guess it doesn’t have to.
As such, atheism doesn’t “promote” anything by itself. It isn’t a thing that can be beneficial.
Do religions inspire things that are beneficial? Sure.
Do religions inspire things that aren’t beneficial? Undeniably.

My person philosophy reflects secular humanism to a great extent. I think that secular humanism and its principles can inspire beneficial actions etc. and I think that it has safeguards that make inspiring painful things very difficult to square with humanism.

Now to a major point – the measure of an idea’s beneficial or negative impact on humanity is no reflection of the TRUTH of the idea.

So, if these religions think they can be *beneficial*, then let them say that. If these religions think that they have claims that are TRUE (which as far as I can tell, they do), that’s a completely different question and matter. I think that beliefs based on reality yield a much better chance at affecting a person’s actions in a positive and beneficial way than beliefs based on fancy.

So when Christians say that Christianity is true (as in, accurately reflects/describes reality) – they are wrong. Could their beliefs be beneficial? Potentially, but that’s irrelevant to the truth of their claims.

Hopefully that was clear – if not please ask.

2. How does atheism improve the richness of life moreso than Christianity/Judaism/Buddhism/Islam?

It relieves the non-believer by his not needing to worry about some God. It provides comfort in knowing that while other people worry about the “life to come” – that they probably have no reason to think that such a thing is something to worry about.

Many believers are very uncomfortable with uncertainty. I can live with doubt and uncertainty and not knowing, others find that hard. I find that my life is more rich because I can always find out more and question and learn more. I haven’t settled for answers that might be wrong – which is what would worry me if I *believed*.

I find it a little odd that you put Buddhism with the others…from my study I’ve found the Buddhism is much more concerned with the here and now. How to be a better person, how to relieve suffering, how to focus and calm the mind.

As I said before, I have a philosophy with which I live my life, and I find it very fulfilling. I find that the richness of my life is increased in knowing that this is the only chance I have at existence – don’t waste it. This day will never be again, and that’s empowering.

And to echo the point in my last answer – whether or not something enriches life is an entirely different question than whether it’s true or not.

3. What has atheism done for you?

Ignoring the problem that the *lack of something* can’t do things, I would say that the whole discovery process and questioning process has yielded far more than I could have guessed it would. I started questioning about a year before I kept any kind of public diary like this. I noticed the similarity in the prayers that the Roman’s in Vergil’s Aeneid said with the prayers that I said. I saw how in a battle you could imagine your local gods fighting with the warring neighbor’s gods…and the turns of the momentum of battle reflecting the god’s battle.

So I began questioning, and I haven’t stopped. I’ve found that many people have never thought to question their beliefs in at least a few of the ways that I question them. I enjoy debating, and I enjoy mental stimulation. I hope that I get others thinking, others questioning in new ways.

Actually, in my preparation for the LSATs, reading and critiquing arguments all these years has really helped me on the “logical reasoning” sections. I almost never miss more than 2 of those questions.

“Atheism” brought me from worrying what God’s plan for me was – to realizing that I am in control of my plan. Atheism has lead me to question many things, even outside of religion. Atheism gives me an island of sanity in this crazy world.

4. Do you promote atheism over religion?

This is a tricky one. I am going to say a qualified yes. Yes because truth is important, and many of the claims of religion are nonsense. However, what’s more important, in my mind, is that people cease to believe in superstitions for the right reasons.

If the principle that you should believe something only if there is a reasonable reason to believe it – and to that extent, then, many of the claims of religion evaporate. I would not endorse the *promotion* of atheism in a way other than dialectic or arguments. I wouldn’t promote any sort of “outlawing” religion in the sense that you make it illegal to believe in God – even if people stopped, they’d stop for the wrong reason, and they haven’t improved their position any.

5. Do you promote atheism over agnosticism?

This gets tricky. Atheism as I see it is the lack of a belief in God. So you either have a belief in God, or you do not have a belief in God. You can fall in to only one of the two categories.
Agnosticism can have two definitions that I know of: 1. Whether there is a God or not is unknown/unknowable or 2. God is unknowable.

I really agree with AUUB on this one.
I’ll concede that strictly speaking – whether there is a god or not is unknowable. But unknowable in the same sense that EVERYTHING is unknowable. There is always uncertainty.

So there is uncertainty that we cannot get rid of, but everyone, including agnostics, ignore for the majority of their life. It seems strange to be “agnostic about God” when there are plenty of other things to be just as “agnostic about”.

For example, It is unknowable whether there is a monster that lives under my bed. All reason and evidence suggests that there is no monster under my bed – when I check, there’s nothing but dust down there – but he could pop into existence at any second.

But you don’t heard of people who are “agnostic” about whether a monster may pop into existence under his bed.

I think that agnostics should apply the same standard to similar things. There is no reason nor evidence to suggest that there is a God, and yet there are agnostics who don’t worry about monsters, who worry about God.

It’s just inconsistent, so yes, I promote atheism over agnosticism.

6. By the end of life, is it more important to have been an atheist?

Do you mean:
Is it more important to have been an atheist than a Christian at the end of life?

No, I think it’s more important to have lived a good life and been a good person – which I think is easier to do as an atheist.

Log in to write a note
May 22, 2004

I don’t know what your, or the western side of Buddhism encompasses, but over here we have gold coated Buddha statues, belief in various gods, and people praying to them for lottery numbers…

I think you can live a good life and be a good person and also be a Christian. And I don’t know many Christians that worry about God and the afterlife. I find comfort in knowing that there is something bigger out there. That’s just my thoughts…

Thanks for answering the questions. I’m often curious about what people believe and why they believe. Its nice that you went in depth. I have another question; if you get bored with my questions, I’ll stop asking. I’m just curious about things. My other question is based on something Ghandi once said. Gandhi said he would never consider becoming a Christian because he never saw a Christian that

lived like Christ; The Bible instructs people not to accept certain things of this world. So I was wondering how a person who is not a Christian would define a true follower of Christ’s teachings/examples, and also how a non-Christian would define how a praticing Christian should juggle New Testament teachings (about issues) & still come across as Christ-like to non-Christians without being

judgemental. (I’m afraid I jumbled those questions a little). As a Christian, I think it is important for Christians to come across to others as followers of Jesus, rather than Bible worshippers. My perfect view of a Christian would be Saint Francis of Assisi or Mother Teresa; they let love be the testamony for Jesus, instead of going around condemning people. So I’m curious to know

non-Christians would describe a true follower of Christ; and how the true followers of Christ should pratice the commandments of the New Testament without being forceful or judgemental towards non-Christians. Thanks,

ryn: God is the one who even allows us to live. And what’s the point of even living if we never face any hardship or grief? God uses some of those things to test us. God gave us all a free will, so therefore he has to stand by and watch people sin.

May 23, 2004

ryn; Again, this is not my story, nor my passion but in answer to your question (and thanks for leaving me the note) Jesus ‘descended into the lower parts of the earth. He who descended is he who also ascended far above all the heavens.’[Eph 4:9-10]

May 23, 2004

The frequent New Testament affirmations that Jesus was ‘raised from the dead’ presuppose that the crucified one sojourned in the realm of the dead prior to his resurrection.[Acts 3:15; Rom 8:11; I Cor 15:20; cf. Heb 13:20]

May 23, 2004

This was the first meaning given in the apostolic preaching to ChristÂ’s descent into hell: that Jesus, like all men, experienced death and in his soul joined the others in the realm of the dead. But he descended there as Saviour, proclaiming the Good News to the spirits imprisoned there.[cf. I Pt 3:18-19]

May 23, 2004

Scripture calls the abode of the dead, to which the dead Christ went down, ‘hellÂ’ – Sheol in Hebrew or Hades in Greek – because those who are there are deprived of the vision of God.[cf. Phil 2:10; Acts 2:24; Rev 1:18; Eph 4:9; Pss 6:6; 88:11-13] Such is the case for all the dead, whether evil or righteous, while they await the Redeemer:

May 23, 2004

which does not mean that their lot is identical, as Jesus shows through the parable of the poor man Lazarus who was received into ‘Abraham’s bosom’

May 23, 2004

:[cf. Ps 89:49; I Sam 28:19; Ezek 32:17-32; Lk 16:22-26] ‘It is precisely these holy souls, who awaited their Saviour in Abraham’s bosom, whom Christ the Lord delivered when he descended into hell.’[Roman Catechism 1, 6, 3]

May 23, 2004

‘The gospel was preached even to the dead.Â’[I Pt 4:6] The descent into hell brings the Gospel message of salvation to complete fulfilment. This is the last phase of Jesus’ messianic mission, a phase which is condensed in time but vast in its real significance:

May 23, 2004

the spread of ChristÂ’s redemptive work to all men of all times and all places, for all who are saved have been made sharers in the redemption.

May 23, 2004

Granted, most of the stuff above is cut and paste. But, you know, going into the bible to find all that stuff would be silly for me. It’s one book out of hundreds on my shelf, I don’t subscribe to it as the gospel and neither do you. I wouldn’t hunt for miniscule details in Vonneguts Cat’s cradle to argue with you either. Even when you retold it wrong. The faith isn’t in the details …

May 23, 2004

And that neither you or I have it, it seems we are the wrong people to argue it, unless your goal is to take from someone else. I submit we don’t understand faith well enough to remove it from someone who has it, and it’s rude and cruel to point out people who are just pretending to have it. You wouldn’t point out false fans at a baseball game would you? Especially if it were teams you cared nothi

May 23, 2004

nothing for?

ryn: well, just because you dont like the way God runs things, then that doesnt mean he’ll change just for you. we dont have to understand everything he does. he doesnt have to explain himself. he knows what he is doing. he knows all and see’s all. for us to think we know better than God is just ridiculous.

May 23, 2004

It relieves the non-believer by his not needing to worry about some God. but for many of us we don’t worry about god but find comfort in her, and by god we can put an end to our worries of the chaos of life. for if it were in the hands of something greater then i, which i have a messuer of influence over (by prayer) well it then alows me to not focus the my perils. oh sweet honey, tastes so good.

May 23, 2004

ryn: i have a patters in the sand for PAIN i really like it as a topic so i will work on a free flow rant for the next few days on the subject. thank you for the sujestion. is there an aspect of pain that particulary intrests you or just pain in the aggrigate and its funtion in life.

how is it easier to live a good life and be a good person being atheist? Wow, you must have met some real screwed up christians…you know, from birth we all need a rolemodel to show us good from bad, right from wrong. How is having god as a rolemodel a bad thing? and why would you think that would make it more difficult? That doesn’t make sense at all.

I agree 100% with your last statement, go to http://www.twelvetribes.com and put “what it means to be a christian” in the search window…Peace

May 26, 2004

ryn: um actually, I do take the horoscopes pretty seriously. Usually one of my two horoscopes are on target. and sometimes they are a little off and that’s okay. Do you not believe in horoscopes? Have a Nice Day! *rojakolab*