How to Judge a Deity…

Do not feel compelled to click on my ad above. – BUM

The last entry has had quite a bit of back and forth…

Let’s whittle this down to its essentials.

Stealthpudge18, assume for this entry that I’m giving up all claims of being able to know what is moral.

You seem to think that you can justify calling God good, so this entry is exploring that option.

I asked earlier how you determined that God was good and that Satan was evil… do we have access to some external morality that we can judge the actions of these two beings? Or did you randomly pick God to follow and Satan to reject?

Statement 1: Literally anything that Satan does, can, or would do; if God did the EXACT SAME THING, it would not be immoral by your worldview.

Is that statement false? If so, could you please give me an example of something that God could do that you would say is immoral?

I would anticipate your answer to be that the statement is true, because, as you said, "Because I acknowledge that God is the source of morality, it is a logically impossibility for God to act immorally."

Now, because you attempted to address this, I’ll go through your response so far:

"1. A world was created from the will and effort of a being (God) who made a world entirely consistent with his own nature–whereby everything contained in this world that was good or praiseworthy was a direct result of the creative work of God. Death doesn’t exist in this realm." – Stealth

And you know this because God told you that He was the one who did it — not because you had direct experience of this, of course.

How did you determine that God was trustworthy? That God doesn’t lie?

If Satan claimed that he himself had created the universe, and that God was his creation — how could we decide who was telling the truth?

Wait, is lying wrong? Did you find this out before believing that whatever God said was good was good?

"2. God created (at least) one being capable of choosing to violate that creation." – Stealth

Satan could claim the same thing.

How do you choose one over the other?

"Also. In regards to your thought experiment about God acting like Satan and vice versa: You’ve mixed up the origination point. The reason God is God is because of the way he acts, not because of what he declares to be moral. In other words, morality proceeds from God." – Stealth

So the way He acts conforms to some kind of external standard that you have access to and can compare God’s actions to?

As far as I can tell from what you’ve repeatedly said, there it literally nothing that God could/would do that you would even hestitate from calling the actions of a supremely moral being.

"I’m not uncomfortable with saying that God is alright with killing noncombatants in that time and that place." – Stealth

"By that basis, at least in one sense I could say that God never kills an innocent…because there’s no such thing." – Stealth

As far as I can tell, you aren’t uncomfortable with God doing or commanding anything, ever. Genocide, whatever. Please correct me with an example of what God could do that you would call wrong if I’m stating this incorrectly.

If God commanded Bush to nuke every other country in the world, then that’s the command from the most supremely good being.

This kind of thinking is one of the reasons that I’m motivated to argue against religious faith. It will call literally any action the highest of moral goods.

This kind of thinking is dangerous to say the very least.

"It is not created by Him. It IS him. For God to act like Satan would be like saying that A=B. Satan, for his part, acts as a free agent to confound and twist the definition of who God is and how he operates in order to obscure people from seeing God as He is, and, by extension what morality is." – Stealth

Could you please list a few actions that, if God HAD done them, you would condemn God as immoral?

 

free web tracker

Log in to write a note
Tak
September 8, 2008

Xtians like pudge are just defending their deity because if they went ahead and admitted that their version of g0dd really did command immoral acts they’d probably implode. Xtian apologists haven’t a leg to stand on in this debate and they KNOW IT which is why they persist in arguing long after their cause has been lost in hopes we’ll give up and leave them to their delusions.

September 8, 2008

“it is a logically impossibility for God to act immorally” If gOd must conform to our notions of logic, then he isn’t omnipotent. If he doesn’t have to conform to our notions of logic, then what he does may or may be absurd – he’s truly beyond our understanding and we’re in no position to call him moral or immoral. Neither possibility is easy to reconcile with traditional Christian beliefs. All such problems of course vanish if we simply accept that no gOd exists.

September 8, 2008

“Satan, for his part, acts as a free agent to confound and twist the definition of who God” And who created Satan? Who set the rules of this game? It’s sophistry to claim that gOd can’t do anything immoral – but his creations can within boundaries he himself has set. It’s as if I created a vicious pit bull in a lab and then set it free and said, “Oh, I’M innocent – it’s the pit bull that’s creating havoc out there, not me!” It’s worse, actually, since I don’t claim omnipotence – only an understanding of what’s likely to happen.

September 9, 2008

And AUUR, to spring board off of what you’re saying: In law and in morality, we are responsible for, say, our pets and their actions. If that pit bull did indeed bite someone, I have to pay that person’s medical bills and possibly be fined or owe him/her pain and suffering should the judge order it. I think the very notion that people can claim “God is moral because God is moral” isbasically giving God arbitrary free reign and simultaneously making it all up as they go along. God is omnipotent and omniscient… but isn’t responsible for His creations’ behavior? Something ain’t right.

September 9, 2008

I will attempt to answer this, because somehow the main essence of what I’ve attempted to say still isn’t getting through. Maybe if I look for another formulation than my own it will take us someplace positive. I’ll see what I can come up with before we start dealing with all kinds of tangents.

September 9, 2008

Btw…now that I’ve mentioned tangents… I don’t think this debate is really about God’s nature at all (or how we would judge the claims made about various deities). I think this debate is centrally about the problem of evil. Namely… 1. I am positing the existence of a optimally good God. 2. Evil exists (and then, where you’re wanting to go with this) 3. God must therefore be evil.

September 9, 2008

Quick note for AUUB–because it’s been so long since we’ve talked. How are you? As for your point, it’s a misrepresentation of what I’m saying. I’m positing a world created by a being with certain qualities, including the creation of free agents who can choose to act against the qualities and wishes of the creator. That God “knows” how these agents will act does not put their choices on him.

September 9, 2008

” I think this debate is centrally about the problem of evil.” You are wrong. “Namely… 1. I am positing the existence of a optimally good God.” Stop here. Consider that I accept this premise. There is an optimally good supernatural being. There also exists an evil being. How do you know which one is optimally good? This is NOT the problem of evil. How do you know which one is optimally good? How do you know you chose the right one?

September 9, 2008

That’s a helpful clarification for me. Thanks. My answer to knowing the difference between the good being and the evil one is tied to my first principles about the nature of the universe. I would hold that one being was not created and the other was. The pre-existent being (I know it begs questions about where God came from) is good because he was the one who made everything else.

September 9, 2008

The reason for calling him “good” in this sense then, would be that he made anything at all. The “evil” being was also made by a “good” God, but I would argue that rather than being God’s opposite, Satan is simply a created being that strayed from doing good because of the free agency granted to him, and that in its essence, immoral behavior is following after that pattern: agency gone awry.

September 9, 2008

My thought about the problem of evil entered in at this point. The question of God knowingly creating a universe where evil was possible often leads into the problem of evil. My apologies for the misunderstanding.

September 9, 2008

“My answer to knowing the difference between the good being and the evil one is tied to my first principles about the nature of the universe. I would hold that one being was not created and the other was. The pre-existent being (I know it begs questions about where God came from) is good because he was the one who made everything else.” Ok, now I’ll grant that one of the two created the entire universe — pre-existing and made everything. The one named “God” claims to have created everything. If Satan lied and claimed same thing, you have no basis for choosing God to be good and Satan to be evil. I can grant you as much as I want here. All it takes is for one of the two to lie about his own true nature for you to be stuck with ZERO justification for deciding what is Good and what is Evil.

September 9, 2008

So you’re saying that the nature of the two beings is not knowable? That there is no qualitative or quantitative means by which to differentiate between the being who is telling the truth and the one who is lying? There would be no means by which humans could logically and rationally declare a difference between the two which would serve as enough evidence to name the truthteller from the liar?

September 9, 2008

Btw…looking at the notes again, I think my question about the problem of evil springs from AUUB’s notes, not from yours. I usually assume you’re both trying to make the same argument from the similar premises. Perhaps that wasn’t the case here.

September 10, 2008

“Quick note for AUUB–because it’s been so long since we’ve talked. How are you?” – StealthPudge18 I’m good, thanks. Hope you are, too.

September 10, 2008

“I usually assume you’re both trying to make the same argument from the similar premises. Perhaps that wasn’t the case here.” Yeah, BUM is pursuing one line of thought, I’m pursuing another. Feel free to ignore me until you finish with his.

September 11, 2008

I’m still working on my formulation. I’ll be posting it some time in the next couple of days. I’ll confess though, if you’re going to grant me that an optimally good God exists, along with another being who is evil, but you won’t grant that there is any way rationally to prove it, that spending the time finishing the work I’ve done is useless. Our variance is with God being knowable.

September 11, 2008

“along with another being who is evil, but you won’t grant that there is any way rationally to prove it, that spending the time finishing the work I’ve done is useless. Our variance is with God being knowable.” This is at least partly what I’m trying to find out. How could it be knowable? By their own admission? By some test you’ve devised? You claim to be able to discern this, but I’m baffled that you think you have some way of telling which supernatural being is telling the truth. So, it appears that the ENTIRE foundation of what you consider to be moral — all of it — requires that Satan be honest about himself. Which seems a pretty flimsy thing to base your entire notion of morality on.

September 14, 2008

If you’re looking for a naturalistic way to prove a metaphysical reality (which the naturalistic view discounts the existence of anything metaphysical as a matter of course) of course there are going to be difficulties. The question is not really about morality then, but rather about your belief that there is a lack of proof for God. So again, we’re back to what proof you’d accept.

September 15, 2008

“If you’re looking for a naturalistic way to prove a metaphysical reality (which the naturalistic view discounts the existence of anything metaphysical as a matter of course) of course there are going to be difficulties.” – StealthPudge18 No. I’m granting you that 2 supernatural beings exist. God and Satan. And you can communicate with both of them. How much more generous could an atheist be? How did you decide which to call your master and which to call your enemy? My claim is, you have NO basis for morality even given that these 2 supernatural beings exist; even with lines of communication with them. So again, how did you decide which to call your master and which to call your enemy? Flip a coin?