Explain the belief in the resurrection!!

Then, and here’s the key part – they were offered a way to understand this absolute failure as though it were the exact opposite, an absolute (and unexpected) success! — Bum

Isn’t this a fair summery of what you getting at? Afraid if I put it in my words you’d argue some miniscule detail I left out.

 This is the point right? How you believe the two stories correlate. [haredawg]

 
No, a fair summary would be as follows:

 
My example gives one way that the events could have happened; and given the case that in modern America, with literacy rates in the 90% – there exists an example of a group that followed a leader, up until the leader was unequivocally shown to be wrong; and, contrary to what people *expect* to happen, their faith in the leader is increased.  And their proselytizing to others increased.

 
A common argument that I come across is that the disciples are either lying or telling the truth – and they died for what they believed in – and who would die for a lie?

 
People say, “so messiah groups came along all the time, and the leader was killed, why didn’t they have their followers standing on the street corner continuing on?”

 
One answer is the one I gave: “they were offered a way to understand this absolute failure as though it were the exact opposite, an absolute (an unexpected) success!”

 
—————————–

 
So what you are saying is.. because this is the same.. except where it’s different.. it rules out another story? It is easy to find examples why such an argument is not very good.

 
But I stand more by what I said in my last note. Did any of these people die for the lie? You, Bum.. would never die for God; because you don’t believe he is real. Why would people who know he isn’t do so?

 
Many of the followers of Christ.. the ones you say were perpetuating a lie.. died.. horribly.. for this. What you ask for now.. is not a physical miracle.. but a psychological one. People under the pain of torture admit to things that aren’t true. See the witch trials… yet you ask for these people, under the pain of torture, to stand by what they "know is a lie." That’s even harder to believe. [ghostwriter]

 

 Did I say they were lying? That they “knew the resurrection was a lie”?  No. In my entry, I’m taking it for granted that these people very much believed that they had true beliefs.

 Did any of these people die for the lie?

 Are you telling me we have a record of a disciple that died because he did not renounce the belief in the physical resurrection of Jesus? Please cite it, I’m very curious. You’re allowed to use the Bible as a source.

 
“So what you are saying is.. because this is the same.. except where it’s different.. it rules out another story?”

 No.  I’m saying, look, here’s something where people acted strangely after enormous, life-altering events occurred in catastrophic ways for a belief system that they had sacrificed a lot to believe in (quitting jobs, leaving spouses, etc).  And although you could use the common sense argument, “well, once they were shown that their belief was wrong, why would they continue with it?” That’s not how people work. 

 The Keech example shows that the people find a way of looking at the situation so that they validate all the sacrifices that they made, especially when a new way of explaining the data becomes available.  The faith of the group made the earth goddess decide to not flood the earth, or the death of the messiah was exactly what we were looking for all along, we just didn’t realize it (hey, that’s a common theme throughout the NT isn’t it? How the disciples do not realize that the messiah has to die until after…)

 Let’s say that the Keech followers were willing to die for their belief.  Let’s also say that the disciples were willing to die for their belief.  What does this tell us? I would say that it’s VERY STRONG EVIDENCE that these people honestly believed what they say they believe.  Now, how does strength of belief correlate with reality? I mean, what if Newton were not willing to die for his belief in his theory of gravitation? What if he was? It doesn’t matter.  Having evidence that the disciples believed something, means that the only “miracle” that is needed to be explained is “how they came to believe that.”

 
I think that there are probably a number of ways that this belief could have come about, and one of the more plausible ways would be in an analogous way to the Keech example.

 
If none of us had ANY IDEA how they could have believed something like that, what would that tell us?  I suspect that a number of people reading this entry would say that we could conclude something like, “well, then it’s likely that they believed it because they had good evidence, or it was the truth…”  Why?  Why would that be the case?  When do the limits of our ability to imagine how something occurred tell us anything about reality?

 
In other words, saying, “I can’t even think of a way that these people could have believed X unless X happened” – is a statement about the limits of YOUR IMAGINATION, not the limits of reality.

Reality is not constrained by your lack of creativity.

Log in to write a note
June 18, 2005

Heh. You ask me to limit my answer to one or two sentences, I qoute you, you respond, no, then in a handful of sentences qualify and summerize with almost the same qoute. If I said the sky were blue, I’d expect you to go into some analogy and end with the sky is bluish, sometimes, except where it’s not.

June 18, 2005

Also, you responded to my entries by asking what I understood of yours. I guess my entries are beneath your contempt? Or are you only interested in things that pertain directly to yours in a way you approve of? Before you get your panties in a wad, I’m just asking, it’s not a set up to unmask you and expose clark kent.

June 18, 2005

Hold on. I’m sure my words will appear in red qoutations “unmask … Clark Kent” and that somehow the myth of Jesus and Superman will tie in, both had secret identiies but neither wore a mask and so not only doesn’t haredawg understand the scriptures or superman, but he drools. Howzabout we call it bruce wayne, or just add that the meaning of unmask means to expose in this case.

June 18, 2005

And I only drool when pavlov rings his stupid bell.

June 18, 2005

“and summerize with almost the same qoute.” The way you responded, it seemed to me that you thought that I had discovered the way that the disciples came to believe in the resurrection based on a story about aliens. Which is not what I was doing. I was offering at least one way that it could have come about in a non-miraculous way.

June 18, 2005

You had asked me what in my estimation was the summation of your argument, no? Again, I thought if I used your own words I wouldn’t be subjected to your interpertation of my interpertation. Apparently I was mistaken.

June 18, 2005

If I had thought you were offering some panacea or some definitive answer I would have called you on it. I might even have pointed out that if one uses the argument that the gospels are suspect because they were written 40 years AD then the same argument would hold true for definitive answers written 2005 years AD. Do you suspect I can’t read or that your entries are shrouded in mystery?

June 18, 2005

“aliens and Jesus Christ and correlating the two with some over simplified pop psychology. I really just wanted to get at the dependability of witnesses doesnÂ’t effect the nature of the event.” That was the reason I asked what you thought I was arguing. I don’t understand the relevance of dependability of witnesses to my entry at all.

June 18, 2005

It was the relevency of my entries. In context, I believe, I was explaining one of the reasons that moved me to write what I had. It can’t possibly be your position that any tangential thought one has and wishes to explore from your entries is not relevent, can it?

June 18, 2005

I guess I can understand you not getting the relevency of my entries. You either didn’t really read them or I wasn’t clear enough, either or both being entirely likely. But are we clear yet on the fact that I did and understood your entries? Or are we still arguing small details as I had predicted?

June 18, 2005

^^^ That should read … I did read and undertand …

June 18, 2005

Jesus, my keyboard is possessed … read and understand. …

June 18, 2005

stood

June 18, 2005

shit, you know what I mean.

June 18, 2005

In reference to the people dying for ‘lies’ I had misintepreted that the story was saying they spread these beliefs to save face, knowing it was a lie. The fact that it doesn’t, negates my argument, I admit. 🙂 More to come in next note…

June 18, 2005

Classically, most people accept that John was the only disciple to have been thought to die of old age. Some thought he might never die, due to what is written at the end of his gospel. No information is actually in the bible about the end of the disciples (this makes sense actually) but there are many books that do speak of what happened. Peter was crucified upside down, Philip was torutured

June 18, 2005

to death in the asia minor area, by a preconsul who’s wife he had converted. There is debate on Matthew, some say he was not killed, some claim he was beheaded in Ethipia, Simon the Zealot was killed for not sacrificing to the Sun God in Syria. Jude( Jesus’ younger brother) was beaten to death. Doubting Thomas was killed by spears when fire didn’t do the trick. This goes on… such sources can

June 18, 2005

Not only online easily enough, but in books such as Chirstian History: Deitrich Bonhoeffer, Foxe’s Book of Martyrs, Last words of Saits and Sinners, The book of Christian Martyrs, Martyrs Mirror (written ca 1660, but translated to english recently) and the sources each of these books use. Or for easy reading, try Jesus Freaks.

June 28, 2005

As near as I can tell, you still haven’t responded to my paper anywhere in this discussion of the resurrection. Am I mistaken in that belief?