Bhakti Yoga and Vegetarian Society

So I was walking from lunch today and I saw a Hare Krishna monk that I had talked with at an interesting meeting the week before. He was looking for a donation in exchange for a book (I call that "selling", but no matter). 

Two weeks before was a meeting:

"The Bhakti Yoga and Vegetarian Society wants to invite you to join in on an open discussion on spirituality.  We want to discuss ideas such as does God exist? Is there a soul? If so, what is the position of the soul, and of God?"

Oh it was a fun meeting to go to. First of all, the Bhakti Yoga and vegetarian society? How cool a society is that? I mean, what a name!  So, I go to it, because it is clear from this diary that I’m into that kind of thing.  The meeting was a yogi and 2 monks and 1 practioner of "Bhakti" yoga, which, as far as I can tell, means they’re Hare Krishna’s. (I figured this out after i was in the meeting for a while).

The meeting was a bit disorganized, but the most amusing part was when 3 other "Krishna’s" came to the meeting. They were like Hare Krishna’s, but I don’t think they were Hare. They disagreed with a lot of what the Hare’s were saying, and were going back and forth quoting different verses from the Bhagavad Gita. And one group believed in "free will" and the other group didn’t. It was great to see a religious group argue with another religious group, using the same holy text, and neither group was Christian or Muslim.

They had interesting responses to my questions. When you experience an incarnation of Krishna, then you KNOW the "Truth" which is that all is one, and one is all. Although, I got them to admit that confidence in a belief does not correspond to validity of that belief…so i’m not clear on what they were saying.

Anyway, I’m distracting myself from studying for my physics final exams over the next week and a half, so I thought I’d update.

By the way, if you want to help fund my poor grad student career, please click an ad under the title of this entry. It does work.

Log in to write a note

“all is one, and one is all” – cool! kinda just like the 3 musketeers 🙂

December 2, 2005

I’ve never been able to understand how monistic systems can affirm that “all is one” or “Atman is Brahman” without simultaneously acknowledging that they can’t say anything coherent about the world other than that. Maybe I’m just shallow minded, or not spiritual enough. *shrugs* Such as it is. I applaud you for going and talking with them. I’d like to do that, but alas, not common in WI.