how do you resolve this?

when you’ve got two people that aren’t on good terms with one another, and you’re good friends with both of them, and want both of them to get to happy places, and want both of them to be civil and cool with one another…

how do you be supportive and healthy to both without feeling this massive guilt trip, like you’re ‘betraying’ the other one?  i’m really afraid one day one or both of them are going to jump up and say "YOU’VE CHOSEN THE ENEMY OVER ME, WE’RE OVER", when in reality, i’m just really trying to make as many people happy as possible.

i dont trust that people say what they’re really feeling, i feel like they’ve always got to be harboring some sort of festering anger about the whole situation, and that scares me.  i really dont wanna lose either of these people in my world, but i’m really really really convinced that someone’s going to get possessive of my friendship and i’m going to have to choose.  i know exactly who i’d choose, not a doubt in my mind, but then that leaves someone with hurt feelings and a bruised ego, who severely doesn’t need that right now.

how the fuck do my abandonment issues kick in when i’d be the one doing the abandoning?

it’s just like the episode, the one with the kips.  or the one with the yeti.

i watched those last night, and they freaked me out, bad.

sigh.
The people I met and the places I’ve been
All will make me the man I so proudly am
But I wanna know one thing
When did I become a ghost?
I’m mostly confused about the world I live in
They think that I’m lonely, well I probably am
One thing that still gets me
When did I become a ghost? 

Log in to write a note
November 9, 2010

it makes sense, and i dont envy you. hold your ground, and realize they may see a choice where you have refused to make one. howver, reember also that there is always a choice and even the lack of a choice, is a choice. /hugs

November 10, 2010

Just warn them–if someone tries to make you choose you’ll choose the one who *isn’t* making you choose.

November 10, 2010

I would just… pretend it doesn’t exist… this big feud or whatever. I wouldn’t mention it, or mention one person while around the other. I would be their friend, and if they brought it up just say “I don’t want to be in the middle, I don’t want to choose sides, so can we just not discuss it.”

Real friends wouldn’t make you choose sides. End of story.

November 10, 2010

tell em up straight, that we’re all adults.. *hopefully* And you will still be friends with both individually… and it’s nothing against either one.. and if they think so.. then they’re big babies… =P Something like that..