11:10

worked today!! mostly just shadowed/learned, but took over at one of the positions for a little while too. yeah! feeling so accomplished.

 

i have an interview for a second job on monday and i think i will get it. my days of boredom are aaaaalllmoosttt oveeerrrrrr!!!!

 

my dad (who was laid off earlier this year from the company he worked at for 30 years) accepted a job in omaha. my parents are officially moving up there before the end of the year. i feel like i should be sad to leave the house i grew up in… i don’t think i am, though? i’m excited to see how it all plays out. they have a lot to do… i guess i like change more than i realized. i move around and change a lot, but i’ve always had a "home base" that has stayed more or less the same all these years. i’ve never known what it would be like to not have a home to go back to. when they move that will be the end of that. i love nebraska (we have family there, have visited a lot since i was a kid) but it will never be my home. from now on it’s just me. 

i go back up mid-next week to pick up a few more things to bring down with me… also my sister is in town from tokyo — it will be the first time we’ve all been together since… actually i’m not even sure. with both me and her going out of the country at different times we haven’t all been together in at least 3 years. so we’re having an early thanksgiving dinner on tuesday, before she goes back, and before my parents start moving. my dad’s job starts on november 1st so he’s leaving a bit earlier; my mom will stick around to finish everything up, then join him.

we’re going to talk about the cats and see what to do with them. it’s very likely that i’ll have to take one or both of them down with me. i’m prepared for the possibility but aww.. my roommate’s very shy cat max and i were JUST starting to bond; i can’t imagine either cat "sharing" me with him. 

Log in to write a note
October 13, 2013

cat conflicts are not pretty. they don’t smell nice, either.