The Call

Hello there boys, girls, and those with a little of both.

It’s been a long time since I actually posted anything of consequence in here, and to be honest, I’m not really sure why I’m doing it now.

So I’m joining the Navy. Yeah, that navy. yup, bell bottoms and anchors aweigh and all that jazz.  My mom’s really nervous which is fine, cuz that’s what moms are for, they worry about us when we’re too stupid to do it ourselves.  My best friend refuses to even talk to me about it, which I’m kind of bummed about, but I guess i understand.  My dad just keeps telling me that it’s "a job".

I’m kind of nervous.  even though i wont be going to basic until after I graduate this coming spring, it seem like such an intimidating notion, that a little over a year from now i could be halfway around the world doing god knows what. As nerve racking as the thought is, I don’t want it to be just a job.  I want it to be an adventure.  I want to look back on my service when I’m old and gray and know that I did something worthwhile.  when I join, I could go in as a computer guy on some base on the east coast, or a mechanic on an aircraft carrier.  then for me it would be just a job, doing just enough to not get yelled at.  I don’t want some time clock punching job, even if it is on a really nifty ship.  I want to be in the shit.  I want to know that the guys around me have my back, and that their lives depend on me having theirs.  it’s not that i have a death wish, because really, I haven’t done nearly as much stupid shit as I’d like to before I die.  No, it’s more like I need to know that I can do it.  I need to know that my entire life up to now, which has been pretty comfy, is worth something when the shit hits the fan.  I haven’t really grown up yet. I’m a 21 year old teenager, and that needs to change.  It’s a life altering choice I’m in the process of making, but lets face it, I need to get out of Wisconsin sooner or later.

Yeah, spazzy, i know.  but have you ever thought back on something and wondered what it’d have been like if you had done something different?  It sucks, and I dont want to feel like that for the rest of my life.

Till things are brighter,

nick.

P.S.
 Packers beat the Colts 59-24. SHIT YEAH!

Log in to write a note
September 10, 2010

NOPE, never had that thought, ever. I know not what you speak of. I understand it’s just…I don’t want to have to recite all the embarrassing things you did when I’m at your funeral. Which you probably won’t die BUT if you come back a bigger douche bag, I will bring out the bastard bat. love spazzy

November 19, 2010

OMFG YOU STILL COME ON THIS THING? REALLY? I wish you would just post a lot and say random things that dont have to be all that intelligent, just things that are there, because that is what living is, and me crawling inside your brain was never a bad thing in the first place, right? i know, im rambling. tis what i do. love, spazzy p.s. i am not short. go **** yourself.

February 22, 2011

Best of luck for your Navy career. Who knows you might end up loving your ‘job’ and make a career out of it.