of better men than I

well boys and girls, it’s been a little wierd with me for a while, lot of shit goin on, but i think i’ve got it figured out. but on one more meloncholy note, i found this post on a gothic message board i frequent. he truely is a better man than i am, and i hope to whatever diety is really up there that there are a hellovalot more people like him in this world.

Hi everyone, Just had to tell everyone what happened to me last night (14/2/06).

As we at the Welfare Agency have got loads of dosh from the Govt we are open 24/7 now.

I did my first night shift in what feels like a very long time. (looking back now 1yr ago as a 2nd -yr student.)

Anyhow, the office was quiet for a good part of the night, then BOOM! Heaps of people all at the same time!

10 Suicide crisis phone calls, 7 kid’s chromeing in need of the “chill-out-room”, 1 sexual assult, a mum with 2 kids thrown out of home by an abusive husband.

I forgot to mention, it was just me and a 1st-yr Welfare student doing a field placement running the show!

We worked our asses off for hours! I’m buggered! I don’t know how doctors can do these long late shifts.

The thing that upset me was the young 12yr old goth girl that was thrown out of home just because she is a goth. She told me that she has been on the streets for a week now and already she has been prostituting herself for food and shelter.

The student was really disturbed by this.

I contacted her home and they don’t want her. I contacted a good womans shelter and they are full. We let this kid sleep in the staff rooms “crash bed” whilst we look for a place for her. We did get her into a youth shelter but it’s only short term. Day-shift is working on it now.

I can’t sleep, this has really stuffed me around.

I know this is the type of stuff I deal with everyday but last night was different. I don’t know how it was different but it was…

pray for this man, pray for this girl and those famililies. and always look to help people with the little things.

our world is faaling to ashes around us. we need to band together and hold up the walls collapsing around us.

till things are brighter. nick.

Log in to write a note

there r more people like him. but we have to disperse ourselves so that more than just one little part of the world is helped. the entire world needs help, with no exceptions. tis us helpers who keep the world together. and he’s right….we r falling to ashes. because the amount of good people is diminishing. people only think of themselves, hence destroying every thing/one else. and u r helping.