Finest Hour

I have nothing to offer but blood, toil, tears, and sweat. We have before us an ordeal of the most grievous kind. We have before us many, many months of struggle and suffering.

There are a great number of things that I would like to someday do with my life.  at this stage, so many possibilities are open, that at times i find myself overwhelmed.  But standing above all else is the desire that 60 years from now, as I lay on my deathbed, I will be able to look back at a moment in my life, and know beuond any doubt, that that moment was the culmination of everything it means to be a man.  whether it is saving a life, inspiring a group, winning a battle, or anything else, I feel a deep seated need to be, even if for one brief and shining moment, the best.  Maybe someday I’ll find myself in that "dare to be great" situation.  but the idea of waiting my entire life for something that may never come haunts me nightly.

Let us therefore brace ourselves to our duties, and so bear ourselves that if the British Empire and its Commonwealth last for a thousand years, men will still say, ‘This was their finest hour.’
        

We choose to go to the moon. We choose to go to the moon in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard, because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of our energies and skills, because that challenge is one that we are willing to accept, one we are unwilling to postpone, and one which we intend to win, and the others, too.

just wanted to throw that out there

nick.

Log in to write a note