deathly silent

as you know from my last post, i went to washington DC last week. i dont feel much like talking about alot of it, but it will most likely be covered in another, later, post.

the day after our arrival, an entire day of touring the capital. our first stop was something i’ve been waiting to see for years.

the national holocost memorial.

this place can only be described in two words: humbling, and disturbing.

the first thing you see as the elevator doors open is a wall-sized photograph of nazi soldiers murdering jews. things only become more grisly and dimented as you continue down the remaining 3 floors. these creatures werent human. they murdered human beings like cattle. i saw the door to the auschwitz gas chambers. how many thousands of men, women and children passed through that door thinking they were taking a shower? i saw hitler’s memo giving hospitals permission to give the incapacitated “the mercy of death”. i saw the operating tables, with the drains in the middle for the gallons of blood to flow through every day. i saw the hair. the bags and bags of hair that were made into socks for u-boat crews. i saw the shoes of hundreds of children who died naked and alone. but what hit me the hardest was the glass. after each floor was a glass walkway leading to the stairs to the next floor. and every inch of this glass was covered in names. names of people from countries overrun by tyrany, opression, and murder. walking through those halls, i was fighting back tears for people i’d never even knew existed, and i was passed a a man talking on a cell phone, and a group of middle school girls being overly “grossed out” be the entire memorial. after snapping at them that yes, there were really dead people in that photo, and they should show some respect, i realized: there were two kinds of people there that day- people who saw the names of the dead on the glass, and people who had a hard time seeing through the window because of the names on it….

my question: which one are you?

Log in to write a note

Somehow the people in this country get away with not caring.I’ll never understand how anyone can’t.We read the names in the glass, and maybe it’s because we value life.All of it and everyone’s.I once thought to go to D.C. to see it, but this has been emotionally charged enough for me to know that I wouldn’t be able to handle the disrespect that 8th grade feild trips allow.

On the upside of all of this, I’m glad to finally hear a general compassion and interest in the memorial.I’m glad you care.Take care.Peace.

It wasn’t hard to grow up with.And I think that’s the part I resent most.Thanks for your words, I appreciate them.Take care.Peace.

I am definitely one of the people who sees the names. In fact, when I was there, we each got info about one person who was killed. I don’t remember her name, but the person whose info I received was the mother of 4 children, all of whom she watched die. She had been in Auschwitz, and had died in one of those horrid gas chambers. Her name was on the 3rd partition of glass, 2nd column, 7 names down.

August 1, 2006

ok so this entry is an old one of urs but i’ve been there before to the holocost museum i used to live in DC it was horrible but thing about it is that gives you a real feeling about went on stronger than pictures and books and i wanted to thank u for the note

October 25, 2006

Wow. I went to that memorial, too, and all I remember was just having a general feeling of being creeped out. It was really, really sad… and I just remember there being about 4 floors of this stuff. It just really makes you think. <3 amanda