The Good, The Bad, And The Knackered.

So tired! I feel like I’ve gone seventeen rounds with Lennox Lewis, been hit by a bus, swallowed fifteen tonnes of cyanide and been down Niagara Falls in a barrel! I.e. shattered, bruised, but mildly exhilerated by the whole thing!

Working with kids is such a strange thing! Their naievity can at one be cute, alarming or irritating, their actions so clumsy, but with a strange purpose, and almost graceful at times! You forget what a joy youth and childhood were/are until you are right there in the thick of it, surrounded by the laughter, the tears, the games, and those strange, seemingly meaningless wanderings that children do which seem to please them more than all the toys and company they could ever dream of!

They have a strange dependency on people too- stange in that one moment they need to talk to you more than anything else they could ever concieve of doing, and the next moment they don’t want anything to do with you, no matter how happy or miserable they are! The number of contradictions and obscurities is simply delicious!

We’ve got some kids that are so sweet and innocent that you couldn’t concieve of them doing so much as pinching an extra biscuit, some kids that are delightful one moment, then satanic the next, and some that just seem pure bad. It just seems so od to me that these little people will grow up to think like we do now, like I am doingas I type! They seem so alien, yet so very close to how I concieve myself to be at times! I don’t understand them, but that’s all part of the fun.

Tom

Log in to write a note
August 10, 2005

they’re cute as long as they’re not my responsibility! i will leave their care to someone else for sure.

August 10, 2005

Great..I am babysitting 3 kids tonite…looking forward to it now, lol

August 10, 2005

I love you. Sorry I couldn’t chat much earlier. Kids rule. I love being around them so much. It makes me feel a sense of hope and serenity. I never understand people who don’t cherish children. Child abusers are sick. Lianne xXx

August 10, 2005

Tom you are soon becoming my favorite FODer. That sucks that you feel so down… perhaps a hang over?? If some I present to you….. THE LINDSEY HANG OVER KIT BROUGHT TO YOU ALL THE WAY FROM THE USA: 2 asprin 1 regular size snikers bar 1 can of coke 1 glass of water Take it before bed and call me in the morning…… Lindz

little kids are interesting.. i always sit there&try and picture what i think theyre going to look like&everything whenever im around them. heh and glad you had fun with the cursor thing i was entertained with it for awhile when i first put it on there. <3

August 11, 2005

Thanks for the note. Yes penny-pinching for the rest of the month for me. Kids… a wonder aren’t they… I look fondly back on my own childhood.. no work!

LMN
August 11, 2005

hi, random noter. the delightful turned satanic are the most entertaining!

Well I’m glad to see you’ve found a new love in GivesHead, you’ll have to tell me how THAT works out for you… I volunteered at a kid’s camp last week, it was really nice. 7th graders suck, though, because they become totally STOOPID. Right now my nieces are here (all three of them) and they are spitting and fighting over lime yogurt in my kitchen. They’re cute. Good people, they’ll make.

August 12, 2005

cool……..you must have been at a daycare centre or a school? (found you thru sezura) I think you look cool in your pic 😀

Thanks for the note it actually made me feel quite a lot better. I think my stepsisters fall into the 2nd category

August 13, 2005

ryn: I am thinking that you are a lot more than just your pic, and anyone who can play with kids all day long and not go bonkers, well, they’re okay by me! I used to be a childcare worker. I know about burnout LOL Take Care.

August 14, 2005

Hey! Tomety! I’m getting green rays from your favourites?!? Why??? Lianne xXx

September 20, 2005

I worked in a nursery for 100 hours when I was studying, and ohhhh how I can relate to this entry. Glorious little beasts though, at the end of the day. Well. Some of them. Or… one of them. xxx