Whitewashed

I hanged my love in an unlit hall,
A painting of a noose
Etched in angst and midnight blue:
I searched the whitewashed wall
And read lover’s laments in braille:

A parable of callused fingers
Entwined like sparks swallowing
The firecracker’s fuse: I bid them
A tearful goodbye as I crossed them,
And a faint light defaced the room.

I flipped the switch, tripped the wire,
Bathed a boy in starving fire:
Rolled about like a restless corpse
Or a bouncing burning tire
That lights the hall like noon.

In that noose, gold-flecked green,
We spy ourselves in everything,
I steal a breath, I sing a scream,
I quenched my fire in holy water
To find that it was gasoline.

I hanged my love in an unlit hall,
Scared to stumble, I learned to crawl,
And in that gauntlet of midnight walls
An unhappy painting is again unseen.

Log in to write a note
March 17, 2008

I like your writing. You have talent <3

March 17, 2008

yeah you do

March 18, 2008

I quenched my fire in holy water To find that it was gasoline. Amazing. The whole thing is amazing. Xxxx

March 20, 2008

Resolute defeat. Doesn’t feel right, depressing entry. Well written as always.

ryn: my ex, the jeopardy-interrupter, was a gemini named mitch. :p

March 24, 2008

my favorite part of this poem is the 4th paragraph [the one before the last one] i particularly love the line ‘we spy ourselves in everything’ because it is something i find all the time in myself and in others, we see ourselves in all forms of art- music, media, art, film and the likes. what was that saying, “imitation is the most sincere form of flattery” or something to that effect. great artists borrow, take from, become inspired by wonderful creations/muses/artists before themselves and before their time. i love that. everything, even fashion, is a recycling of the past generations before us. history is recycled, recreated, and repeated [like it or not] time and time again. i am fascinated by those ideas and think it over, often. 🙂 ps in short, i think your poem is amazing. its a creative piece of work. artistic and full of feeling. and that’s beautiful.

You knock me out!!