Skyrockets

Against my lips I felt something timeless, something without description.  I felt myself soak to nothing in the stars.  The rising and falling of carved breasts on marble statues spoke something urgent, but it fell unheard amongst the stony host.  I took something to myself and named it passion but found it lacking…I held it up to the sun where it disappeared amongst the ancient dust motes, still sailing, still searching for a home.  We found a moment of levity in a lifetime of accidents, and we laughed amongst the spiraling planets.  I whispered into an ear: “Don’t you understand?  We don’t have much longer.”

 

I shied away from conflict but immersed myself in controversy.  We are vessels of tragedy shipwrecked on temporal shores, I whispered to the everyone gathered in the atmosphere.  It doesn’t have to make sense to foster love, to give birth to something immortal.  Something refuted and denied but when held up to that same sun dispersed, sinking into the people surrounding it.  We grow long hair to hide our faces, I explained to myself, never believing.

 

I whispered into the gathering darkness comprising the maw of something utterly infallible…I understood.  Finally.  And we sewed ourselves up in our most resplendent finery and sailed away to something new.  Something timeless and without description.  There we bathed in something bright and never concealed in daylight.  Something so unbelievably heartrending it wrenches everything inside of us, rearranging us, remaking us in its image.  We exploded into sunbursts repainting the sky, never, ever again…repentant.  Unhappy.  Remorseful.  Untouchable.  Explainable.

 

I ignited skyrockets and tied them to my belt-loops and buttonholes; I ignited skyrockets and tied them to thoughts, then watched them streak across my mind.  I knew us as the afterimages left from luminescent contrails burned into the darkened heavens.  I dissolved into myself.  We can grow so large inside ourselves that we invert, the person within needing the air without. 

 

Finally, at long last, I could breathe.

Log in to write a note
December 18, 2006

Very nice! 🙂

December 18, 2006

🙂 yet another approval from me xx