On a Line

Long I struggled on the line,
Willing to trade freedom for flesh,
And for hours I knew no rest,
Though it was wasted time,
Long I struggled against the line.

Long I struggled to the murk
From the shimmer and the shake
That the surface brilliant wakes,
The waking that pleasant hurts,
Long I struggled toward the murk.

Long I struggled in the sun
When my scales left the surf,
Though it was a pleasant wharf,
I missed the solace of the runs,
Long I struggled in the sun.

Long I struggled in her hands
Around my middle, soft yet firm,
I cursed her and her curséd worm,
Despite her and her plans,
Long I struggled in her hands.

Long I struggled with the thoughts
As she tossed me back to stream;
What is it that she’d seen
That brought all that time to naught,
Long I struggled with the thoughts.

Log in to write a note
October 26, 2009

this would make for good lyrics

October 27, 2009

This is either the best fishing poem ever, or the most real love story ever.

October 28, 2009

may i? please? put it into a melody? i can already hear it. i can already feel where the guitar slaps and the twinkly grace notes of a piano would come in. or have you already done this?