06/17/2012

we celebrated father’s day yesterday at my uncle’s. since i wasn’t invited to celebrate mother’s day with my dad’s side of the family, i asked my dad early last week if something was going on for father’s day. i don’t think he had intentions of inviting me, but i invited myself…not so much to see my dad, but to see my family.

i hadn’t seen my family since christmas, which is a long time considering when my parents were still together i saw everyone at least once a month when i lived in state.

i was pretty stressed out about yesterday. i hadn’t seen my dad in almost two months.

i ended up having a really great time and i’m happy i went. my dad was super nice to me which completely freaks me out, but it’s whatever. he’ll fade in and out.

as i was leaving, suzi ran out to walk me to my car. here’s the deal with suzi. last december she and my dad started having problems. she blew my phone up all the time. ALL the time. as she and my dad worked things out, she stopped contacting me completely. while i wasn’t thrilled that my dad was dating a woman like suzi, i never had huge problems with her and i spent a lot of time with the two of them. i was the only person in my family who was receptive and warm to suzi fora really long time. it was strange to me that she fell off. so, anyway, she’s walking me out to the car telling me that she’s not sure why i have issues with her, but my dad and i need to patch up our relationship because we’re both at fault.

hold up.

i’m not avoiding my dad because of suzi. at all. my dad is entitled to date any one he wants to date. sure, i may not think she’s the best fit for him, but i’m not going to not see my dad because of it. i had reached out to my dad several times. dad talked a lot of shit about eric and even more shit about the decisions i’m making in my life and those things prompted me to stay away from him, but only after three failed attempts to resolve things with him and talk to him about the divorce and other important stuff.

i decided to keep my mouth shut with suzi. she’s in serious denial about the status of her relationship with my dad, and i know my dad is probably contributing to that but the physical distance between them is easy enough to read.

it made me really angry, however, that she would say something like that. she also told me that she had a conversation with my dad last week about spending time with me. GREAT. i’m happy she waited almost seven months to open her mouth about it. then, she said she didn’t feel like it was her place to say anything to him and even if it had been her place she probably wouldn’t have said anything.

which doesn’t really make sense to me.

on a happier note, here are more pictures from the vacation….

Log in to write a note
June 17, 2012

Great pics! You’re a twig!

June 18, 2012
June 19, 2012

Looooove that red dress!