02/24/2012

eric read my journal. he knows i’ve had it and he claims he read it to "remind himself" how i felt about him, but either way it’s not okay with me. he read through tom, conor, and himself which is a ton of entries and i feel violated and angry. when he asked me to read from it a while back, i told him that these were my most private thoughts and if he ever read it i’d be furious. i was/am/don’t really know how to feel about it all. yes, i feel like he violated my trust, but i think he hurt himself more by reading it all because i can’t even imagine what it’s like to read so much about someone you love loving someone else.

on top of that, my feelings are changing. i wasn’t anticipating it and i don’t want it to happen, but since we’ve moved in together the amount of pushing, stress, and lack of space has shifted my feelings. i don’t want him to touch me as much, i’m tired of saying i love you a trillion times, and his neediness has really gotten to me. he just needs me all the time. i want him to need me sometimes, but i can’t be all the emotional stability and the only adult in our relationship.

i’m giving it some time. he’s now working at a bar on the river walk so i’ll see him less and i’ll be able to do more things on my own, but honestly, i feel so overwhelmed and guilty for these feelings.

it’s all the talk about forever, maybe. i love eric and if i was ready to settle down i’d be okay with stuff like that. i’m not ready for that. it’s not that it’s him, it’s just that i can’t honestly fathom forever with someone, and i especially can’t fathom forever starting now, even if marriage didn’t come for  five – ten years.

margene once told me that healthy relationships are built on great friendships — that feelings change, lust fades, and those tingly butterflies don’t come around forever. i’m hoping that this will pass because eric is so good to me and i do love him, but i’m tired of feeling irritated.

work is fantastic. i’m meeting awesome people, i’ve been offered several new jobs, and one creepy stalker man sat at the bar staring at me for six hours yesterday, exclaiming to my coworkers that i had "the most beautiful rosy cheeks" (on my face) he’d ever seen.

i facebook stalk lame tom and see new pictures of him. he doesn’t look as good as i remember and i can’t wait to run into him in april at fiesta events. i, honestly, look great these days. my hair is super soft, i’m ten pounds lighter, and i’ve been stocking up on cheap, cute clothes.

i don’t know what to do about eric. when i talk to him about feelings and going with the flow of things instead of dictating futures, his face falls and he asks me questions about the stability of our relationship. all i want is space. a little bit of space and when i ask for that, he has no idea how to do it and instead tells me he’s sorry over and over and repeats that he loves me. he’s always trying to pull me to him and all i want is to breathe and do things without having to tell him where i’ve been. it’s the freedom that i took advantage of when i was single.

man.

Log in to write a note
February 24, 2012

wow, how the tables have turned. im really sorry that he read ur diary..

February 24, 2012

He found your journal? Like OD? I would die. No wonder your feelings are changing. To feel so exposed…. Ugh. The freedom to be and do without explaining is the best part of being single. That was the best part of vacationing by myself. Just doing, going with the flow, without needing to worry about any one else’s agenda or explaining my reasoning. It is one of the perks of being single.Downside? No sex or outside affirmations. Boo. Relationships go through ebbs and flows. When one person withdraws, the other compensates by trying to get closer. It’s totally natural and annoying. If you were both withdrawing, it would be the end of the relationship.

February 24, 2012

Ugh. I hate that guys read the diaries of the women they love… why? WHY?! I hope you figure it out, girl.

February 24, 2012

Wow, I had a very similar experience with my husband at the start of our relationship. (Except the diary reading thing. But another boy did that to me…and um, he’s not around anymore.) Anyway, we got into countless fights over how noncommittal I was and how I didn’t love him at all. Over time, we adjusted to the realities of living with each other. Things are better. Yet, every so often…

February 24, 2012

…I still freak out about spending the rest of my life with him. I will though. He’s pretty extraordinary in his own right. And on my good days, I recognize that. I said all that to say this – if you stick it out, it will probably get better. Or it will blow up in your face. Let’s hope for the former. This business of trying to love someone else is the hardest thing in the world.

And yet you jumped into this and moved in anyway? If you’re going to be the adult, do the adult thing. Take control. Leave him if you don’t want him. You’re going to hurt him more everyday that you stick around. Especially knowing that you don’t want to.

February 24, 2012

When someone reads your diary it is the worst betrayal in the world and very, very difficult to forgive. It’s happened to me. It’s awful. Sickeningly, nauseatingly awful.

February 24, 2012

It’s good that youre being honest with yourself about those feelings. Sometimes that’s the hardest part. I think it’s pretty natural and common though, I know I have and still do sometimes! Also, I think it’s common for each persons goals or perception of the r’ship to shift away from the others for short periods. I think giving it some time and feeling it out is a good plan.

February 24, 2012

Personal space being impinged on can be really hard to work with.

February 26, 2012